We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Stellenbosch!”
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #5 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We elected to celebrate our 23rd anniversary at Majeka, and from the time those gates opened, we were indulged way beyond our expectations. The staff are an incredible team, that made our stay so special. The spa treatment was one of the best couples massages we have experienced in a very long time.

The lounge bar is a haven and in a class of its' own, and the signature gold piglet will remain a part of our photo momento collection!

The suite was flawless, with its' semi private pool that we shared with one other suite. The decor is tastefully loud, and appealed to our senses. Special note that the base of the tree next to the pool is glass cased to prevent injury from the thorns, how more thoughtful can it get?

Our requested pescaterian dinners were delicately and beautifully prepared, and the breakfast was simply delicious.

A must if you looking for privacy and service with finesse!

Room Tip: Suite 502, the devil is in the detail!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear ErnRam,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a positive review about your recent stay at Majeka House.

Our team is delighted to read that their service met with your expectations and that your 23rd anniversary was a memorable one (even just with the picture of my personal favorite Golden skinny pig!).

We look forward to welcoming you back at Majeka House very soon.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2016

Wonderful haven of peace set in beautiful surroundings
The staff were exceptional , rooms luxurious ( bed comfy) and food delicious
There is plenty to do - relax at the spa,chill on lovely gardens or do wine tasting Stellenbosch also worth a visit

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Jean F,

Thank you very much for the lovely review about your past experience at Majeka House.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us to make your birthday treat memorable!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon back at Majeka House.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The service all around was great, from making the booking down to checking out. Food was delicious with a very nice vibe. The staff were super friendly and extremely helpful. The room was spacious, comfortable and they catered for all our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank UhlaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear UhlaB,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience at Majeka House.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We stayed at Majeka House on a recent visit to SA's wine country. The accommodations, service and restaurant were terrific. The spa looked great but we did not have time to try it out. The only drawback is if you don't have a car, make sure you book prior travel/touring arrangements. We were under the impression that we could walk to Stellenbosch but this is not the case.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Beth R,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about your experience at Majeka House.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your trip in South Africa was just as successful.

Many kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I was welcomed warmly and helped from the beginning. The swimming pool is wonderful and the breakfast sumptuous. The staff were warm friendly and very solicitous for my wellbeing. There are a number of steps to negotiate around the site and no steps into the private poo.l. The gardens around the hotel are beautiful

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juneb585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear juneb585,

Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review on your experience at Majeka House.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.5 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1 947 reviews
3.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 115 in Stellenbosch
254 reviews
3.5 km away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#4 of 115 in Stellenbosch
454 reviews
3.1 km away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#3 of 115 in Stellenbosch
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: R2 907 - R6 047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing