We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
348
98
24
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
348
98
24
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail beautiful stellenbosch beautiful hotel breakfast was excellent walking distance the location is perfect wonderful stay heart comfort luxury establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Great hotel, excellent location for restaurants and bars. Rooms very comfortable and the welcome outstanding ... breakfast could do with a little work hence the 4/5 rating. Would reccomend to friends and family for the Stellenbosch experience

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank mrsshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

A very comfortable boutique hotel in the heart of Stellensbosch , easy walk to the city centre . Most welcoming staff and excellent breakfasts . East drive to cape Town and the airport and in the heart of famous vinyards

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roderick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We have stayed a number of times at this small hotel. It is excellent in every respect. The location is great. Temba is very helpful and wiling to help early in the morning or late at night. Staff was willing to sort out small problems. Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 350louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We chose it because it has an English look and feel with antiques. It measured up to that. However, EVERYWHERE was something. I'm not a decorated but it got to be cluttered looking. Less is more, I think. Still in the sitting room there was plenty of unique things to look at. Just felt claustrophobic .

We were greeted well and all through our stay (2 nights) we were shown complete hospitality. We stayed in #1 - ground floor with private patio. Lovely room and great bathroom. However, the mattress was horrible and needs to be replaced. We woke up every morning with backaches and finally got a massage by a local place. I was also put off by the sign that says more than one coffee we have to pay for (on the counter). What place does that?! It talked about other charges too. Not very welcoming.

The location was great. Easy to walk to the main streets for shopping and restaurants. I felt completely safe in that area although we still used some caution. I know tourists can get too trusting.

Breakfast was great in the breakfast room. Loved being served with a smile on china. However, the food itself could use some work. Good but not great. Not trying to be picky.

With all the competition of B&Bs in the area, they need to spiff it up some (with what I mentioned above) and this could easily be turned into a great place!

Room tip: Don't stay in #1 unless they have a new mattress!
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annie055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Centrally located, it's the perfect base from which to explore Stellenbosch on foot and the wider area by car. Off street parking available and the hotel takes responsibility for parking your car in their secure underground car park.
We were made to feel special from the moment we arrived, and nothing was too much trouble. Everyone we interacted with had all the time in the world for us.
The room was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated and the communal areas plentiful and very inviting.
I will definitely stay there again and would recommend it as the perfect Stellenbosch base.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deborahsD8741MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeilBuchner, Manager at Batavia Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Deborah. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards, the team at Batavia, Stellenbosch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews