We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Child friendly, good wines”

Warwick Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23,32*
and up
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Northern Route
Ranked #4 of 140 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The #1 winery on Trip Advisor in the Stellenbosch region for almost 3 years. Warwick has become known as one of the most welcoming destinations with a truly authentic experience & friendly ambience. Open 365 days a year, join us for our famed 'Gourmet Picnic', delicious 'Vineyard Tapas' and a tutored wine tasting. Bring your friends & family for a 'BIG 5 WINE SAFARI' or just laze around on our magnificent lawns under the trees. This kid-friendly historic property will wow you.
stockholm
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Child friendly, good wines”
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Warwick is a very child friendly wine estate with two playgrounds, big lawns and water fountain. We bought picnic baskets, the food was very good but a bit overpriced. The wine were well above average. All in all we had a good experience here and will come again.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank johannes a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    98
    22
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
306 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Don't rely on automation, Warwick.”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

The gourmet picnic at Warwick is a lovely experience, and our visit today would have been sublime bar the glitch that the automated booking system forgot there was a wedding on today...! So, instead of getting our specially chosen picnic spot on the lawn, next to the lake, we ended up on a narrow strip of lawn next to the "working end" of the farm. As it was, it turned out the wedding only started at 16.30, so technically we could have been accommodated, and enjoyed the game of petanque we were so looking forward to.
Admittedly, we did get a free bottle of wine, but only because I insisted on some form of compensation for the inconvenience.
Aside from this major "oops", and a setting that was not nearly as nice as the main lawn, the food was very good. Service was "iffy", and mostly, I suspect, because we were so tucked away out of sight.
Bottom line, really not good enough guys, especially given we were only notified of the automated "blip" at lunch time the day before. Such a pity at a usually delightful venue.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank kalgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wondrous Warwick”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

This was one of my favorite wine tasting experiences yet. A beautiful wine estate with so many interesting stories about how the farm developed into a winery. For couples, the Marriage cup is a must. Definitely one for your bucket list!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Seemed festive on arrival but we left about 10 minutes later with no service”
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We arrived and no one greeted us or asked if we wanted a tasting or other. They were just too busy to serve or notice that we had arrived so rather a let down as we had heard good things about Warwick.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very impressed ”
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

My friend and I did the "Big 5 wine safari", the wine tasting and the picnic. All three were absolutely superb. The guide on the safari (who seemed to be a manager and said he doesn't usually do the tour) was fantastic and extremely knowledgeable. It was fascinating learning about the different grapes and tasting the differences as we drove around the vineyards. It was also a great way to see the incredible views.

The picnic was in a very picturesque setting and absolutely delicious. We chose a bottle of wine we'd sampled at the wine tasting to accompany our food and ended up spending nearly 5 hours at the estate in total as we enjoyed it so much. Beautiful views, high quality produce and excellent service - highly recommended.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank AmberLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warwick Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Warwick Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing