We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wine tasting we experienced in Stellenbosch”
Review of Delheim

Delheim
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42,72*
and up
Vine Hopper: 2-Day Hop on Hop off Wine Tour Pass from Stellenbosch
Ranked #26 of 143 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delheim's Cellar Stellenbosch, offers internationally acclaimed wines, wine tasting tours, and a restaurant in a beautiful garden.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The best wine tasting we experienced in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We visited this winery as a group of nine (including three under two year olds) and had a great time.

The wine tasting is very flexible and the German lady who saw to us was knowledgeable and good fun (once she warmed up). The wines are excellent and the measures are generous.

Another point worth making is that the estate setting itself is beautiful.

Be sure to try the "Sparrow poop" dessert wine, it is incredible

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank StuBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow start but excellent in the end”
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Although we had tried to call many times throughout the day to book in a cupcake-wine tasting for a small group, the phone went unanswered. It was busy when we arrived and not all of us could do the tasting as hoped.

The staff were attentive and considerate and helped make the best of the situation. Been a busy day and busy weekend, it is understandable why we were not able to do the activity planned, however it was disappointing because those who did get to do it (3 or 7) very much enjoyed it.

Will happily go back, hopefully at a quieter time. The views are wonderful and the facilities are great.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank doseofwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Interesting tasting”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We usually choose to visit smaller wineries so it was very offputting to see large coaches lined up in the car park. Understandably, lots of Germans were visiting, given the heritage. Inside it didn't seem too crowded, we were pleasantly surprised, & the staff quickly found us a table. We tasted several wines & bought some of the delicious dessert wine. I would like to return for the cupcake & wine pairing!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic picnic with family”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Our picnic catered for meat eaters, vegetarians and kids. The vegetarians rated their picnic as one of the best they have tasted. From a meat eaters perspective the food, cheese, salads and a range of other treats were excellent. The basket comes with a selection of wine and we enjoyed the range Delheim had to offer.

Wonderfull surroundings and a great relaxed vibe. I am almost reluctant to post this as I love that it's another secret spot, and I would hate it to become overrun. But, credit where it's due - well deserved feedback. Thank you

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning but restaurant closes early!”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a family visit to Delheim in January, and had hoped to do lunch at their famed restaurant, followed by a wine tasting. Unfortunately their restaurant closes at 15:30 which is a very weird time for a tourist destination. We did then enjoy a wine tasting and the tasting fee is waved if you buy any bottles of wine from them. The wine is world class, and the olive and ham platter was delicious. There is very little for young children to do though and they could offer more information on the rich history of the estate.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delheim also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Delheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing