We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning but restaurant closes early!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delheim

Delheim
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44,11*
and up
Vine Hopper: 2-Day Hop on Hop off Wine Tour Pass from Stellenbosch
Ranked #24 of 141 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delheim's Cellar Stellenbosch, offers internationally acclaimed wines, wine tasting tours, and a restaurant in a beautiful garden.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning but restaurant closes early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a family visit to Delheim in January, and had hoped to do lunch at their famed restaurant, followed by a wine tasting. Unfortunately their restaurant closes at 15:30 which is a very weird time for a tourist destination. We did then enjoy a wine tasting and the tasting fee is waved if you buy any bottles of wine from them. The wine is world class, and the olive and ham platter was delicious. There is very little for young children to do though and they could offer more information on the rich history of the estate.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    37
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice tasting, great opportunity to combine with lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

we had a tasting outside combined with lunch. The attentive waiter provided generous samples and some information on the wine as she poured. The 'patter' was a little bit formulaic and scripted, but the wine was delicious and the opportunity to combine the food with the wine was excellent.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
358 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Exquisite lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016

we were lucky that they could fit us in at the last moment. This place serves up a terrific lunch. We had the duck appetizer and then the springbok and ostrich both were done perfectly. The ostrich was rare and just perfect, just about melted on your tongue.
we stopped here on our wine tour and they were very gracious and accomodated our wine tasting with the lunch.
We will not be able to eat anywhere else soon if we hold them to this standard.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank victorian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
“Delheim Picnic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

I went for a picnic at Delheim, for the second time, and it has improved so much since I have been there last year. The picnic baskets are amazing and absolutely your money's worth.The area is clean and the setting is beautiful, right next to the river. The service is excellent and the waiters are all very nice and helpful. High Five to Delheim for doing the best picnics in the Stellenbosch area.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank elj0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Wine and cupcake tasting ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Brilliant staff, extremely accommodating, Fantastic wines, amazing cupcakes, tranquil setting, i would however advise them to let people just chill and not close areas off at exactly 4pm

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delheim also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Delheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing