We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejuvenating three day stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hydro at Stellenbosch
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

I spent three days at The Hydro which is a short stay and not enough for a serious detox/cleanse programme but quite enough for some time out to get plenty of sleep and solitude, which is what I needed. The treatments were great, particularly the Swedish massage, the mud wrap and the shiatsu. The food is healthy and tasty and I really loved the ginger tea that was on offer for most of the day. I stayed in an Executive suite which was very spacious and the bed really comfortable. Also went for a power walk every morning in beautiful surroundings with lovely views. Plenty of public space to relax in including outdoor and indoor pool and nice lounge area. Layout is well designed to allow for both those who want to engage with other guests and those who would prefer privacy. Staff very friendly, professional and on time in terms of itinerary. Would love to go back for a longer stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2017

I was invited by a former colleague, Sandra to visit and enjoy this facility. Unfortunately, I found out that she made no booking when I arrived but the friendly staff was kind to assist and scheduled me in for a neck and shoulder massage.
Thank you to Shakeera for showing me around the facility (although she made sure everyone knows I made no appointment). I was impressed with the setting of the spa/facility, high in the mountain overlooking Stellenbosch, so it provided a spectacular view of the valley.
My treatment by Ruth was enjoyable and she made sure that I was comfortable and we shared a good conversation.
This facility is huge and provide a basket of treatments to choose from. It is highly recommended. I am sure I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Amazing treatments, gorgeous scenery. We did the hydrotherapy, cocoon wrap and swedish massage in a day package, very relaxing, destressing and detoxing. Quiet and serene, very healthy light lunch. Reccomended!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank safiyyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Majestic mountains and vineyards surrounding property. Amazing tiered vegetable garden, all organic. Gardeners share their composting methods and flower choices to chase bugs naturally.
Fabulous salads and vegetable meals. Mario is a superb sports massage therapist. Rooms clean and adequate, not high luxury, but well priced. Staff overall helpful and considerate. My third. visit and I'll be back.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank hondjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

This is the ideal place of you want to get away from high stress work situation and relax,
The quite and relaxing environment force you to bring your hole body to a standstill, the hydro therapy and massages including in the package let you forget about all. Healthy but tasty meals detox your body, and I as a major carnivore was realy worried about the vegiterian food, bit I was never hungry I lost a few Killos in the process (bonus)
The evenings tend to get long as there is not much to do. But you sleep a lot in the first few days. I think the 5 and 7 day plan is the best, less than that You will not get the best out of the Experience. Compared to the average hotel price in the area this is a good deal considering that you get 3 meals, unlimited ( healthy ) drinks( sorry no alcahol allowed) mid afternoon snak, this is not a normal Holliday venue, but if you had a though year it's ideal to wind down The additional spa treatments is als great

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms closest to the therapy section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
13.5 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1 945 reviews
4.9 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
9.4 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
398 reviews
8.0 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
646 reviews
3.7 km away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro at Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro at Stellenbosch

Address: Ida's Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hydro at Stellenbosch 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro at Stellenbosch is South Africa's leading and preferred wellness destination. We provide an experience like no other and serve our guests with passion, pride and professionalism. We deliver personnal care to ensure that each guest fully benefits in body, mind and soul. The Hydro is a place where it is truly about you. We offer 43 years of experience in the wellness industry and focus on detoxification and relaxation delivered in packages specifically designed to achieve preventative and sustainable health. We are a natural destination encouraging the vital forces within us to heal the body, the mind and the soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hydro At Stellenbosch Hotel Stellenbosch
The Hydro Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing