We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 3 954
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
R 3 644
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
R 3 954
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
493
306
92
37
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
493
306
92
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking lovely hotel church street central hotel old world charm bars and restaurants south africa room was large stayed here for two nights cape town central stellenbosch our honeymoon stayed longer heart sa wine uber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2024

Stayed quite a few times previously and this hotel delivers on every front. Efficient and friendly staff in all departments. Rooms very clean and modern and very well serviced. Great location in centre of busy, bustling town, especially with university students arriving with their parents. A great buzz around the whole place.

Also love the garden, small swimming pool area as well as great valet parking at the hotel.

What’s not to like!!

They did have a problem with the boiler when we were there and had no hot water for 2 days, really annoying and inconvenient. When complained to reception it was dealt with quickly and efficiently by the management. They offered a fair refund and we left as two happy and satisfied customers!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hamboy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024

A little hotel that thinks 5 stars all the time. As we arrived and asked a question, (about food) the answer came - of course you are at home now. The staff are attentive and well trained, more importantly extremely friendly. We met several people who come here year after year. Says a lot. The central garden is lovely - it’s small but people are often out during the day. Usually a chair or lounger available. Breakfast is totally amazing, so much choice, basically anything you could wish for. We wanted but could not have a balcony, in the end it did not matter too much. (We booked quite late, our room was magnificent anyway). We ate out every night, favourite was the bakery at Babylonstore and fat butcher. Stellenbosch is buzzy and relaxed. Felt v safe. 100% recommend this lovely place. Definitely would go back.

Room tip: Ask to overlook pool…
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cardy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oude Werf Hotel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Oude Werf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Dear cardy1964,
Thank you for your phenomenal review, we are overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oude Werf and that our warm welcome and professionalism of our staff was one of the highlights of your stay.
At The Oude Werf Hotel we strive to provide the best service and make our guests feel right at home and to see feedback such as yours shows that we are right on track.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
The Oude Werf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2024 via mobile

Don't ask to borrow an iron! Rather bring your own or go out and buy one. Theirs will just damage your clothes. Does not coincide with experiences with other 4 star hotels. They are clearly not catering for business travellers. They are clearly not catering for business travellers. They are clearly not catering for business travellers.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jmvancoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oude Werf Hotel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Oude Werf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Dear jmvancoller, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Oude Werf.Feedback such as yours allows us to improve our overall service delivery and constantly improve our product offerings.
As a team we strive to deliver the best possible experience for our guests, and we are saddened to hear that we have missed the mark with your last stay at Oude Werf by not having an iron available for your use. Each room is equipped with a steam iron and we understand that this might not be the preference of all of our guests. Since your visit we have invested in making irons available to our guests for those travelers who would prefer to press/iron their garments instead of using the steamer.

We trust that should your business travels bring you back to Stellenbosch ,we will be afforded the opportunity to welcome you back.

Until then, safe travel and keep well.
Kind regards, The Oude Werf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2024 via mobile

We stayed in a whimsy room for 3 nights. The room was at the front of the hotel facing the road but was surprisingly quiet. The room was huge as was the bathroom. It was beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. Breakfast at the hotel was amazing. The coffee was excellent. The hotel is right in the middle of the pretty town and everything is on the doorstep. Staff are excellent, very accommodating. I would highly recommend this gorgeous hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank E3262YXjackiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

Hotel was great but they should have told us at check on that there was no hot water. Also at check in they gave us the wrong internet code. We only stayed 1 night so a hot shower would have been good. The hotel was excellently placed in a hustling town full of amazing culture.The breakfast was amazing and our server made the boat ginger and lemon tea and americano. His name was Yale and he was a caring person.

Room tip: They should have told us at check in about the water
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank julierF6375EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oude Werf Hotel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Oude Werf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear JulierF6375EM,

Thank you for reviewing your recent Oude Werf Hotel stay and for sharing your experience.
We are thrilled to see although you only had one night with us, that your stay was made memorable by our location making allowing you to better explore and experience the Stellenbosch culture and by Yale who we must add had a smile on his face receiving this wonderful comment.

Although the stay would have been all the more enjoyable without the experience of having no hot water, and the incorrect internet code being provided which we have since rectified.

We trust that should you find yourself in the Winelands again, we the Oude Werf Team will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews