We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Imke Z

Super!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Jun 2024via mobile
Couldn’t wish for a better stay in Stellenbosch. Lovely accommodation, super breakfast and an amazing staff! Special thanks to Sakhi for all the fun chats. Also the location is perfect, really close to the restaurants (walking distance).
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Imke

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and for choosing River Manor Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Stellenbosch. I am really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us.

We get a lot of great feedback about our great location, and it is wonderful to be able to take on so much of what Stellenbosch to offer on foot. I am also particularly happy to read how special you found the service and the friendliness of the team. I will share your comments with them.

Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area. We would love to welcome you back to Rover Manor Boutique Hotel, or another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Franschhoek, Hermanus and Robertson.

Thanks again and warm regards.

Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 216
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from River Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 125
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from River Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 674
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 674
0.3 km from River Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 135
R 1 552
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 552
6.6 km from River Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 376
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 296
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 297
  • Priceline
    R 2 376
12.1 km from River Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    R 1 436
  • Algotels
0.4 km from River Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 3 809
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 956
5.2 km from River Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 748
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 982
6.2 km from River Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
A nice bedroom, including wall heater for those cold winter nights.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 700
  • eDreams
1.8 km from River Manor Boutique Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Stellenbosch
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
294
73
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
294
73
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge bathroom wine tour lovely hotel few minutes walk small hotel lovely town stayed here for nights cape town breakfast is served our honeymoon each morning the ground floor the location is perfect glass of wine central stellenbosch wonderful stay pools
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2024

The hotel had everything we could wish and we were more than happy. The employees are super nice and they are helpful and friendly in every situation. We booked a winetasting at the reception and it was incredible. Nothing to improve or add from our side😊

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Liviaa

Thank you for choosing River Manor Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Stellenbosch, and for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with. The service is always such an important aspect, so I am delighted that you enjoyed the friendliness, and professionalism of the team. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed the wine-tasing. We are very spoilt for choice with the great wineries around the Stellenbosch area.

Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area. We would love to welcome you back to River Manor Boutique Hotel, or indeed another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Hermanus and Robertson.

Thanks again and warm regards.

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

We stayed one night in Stellenbosch and really enjoyed this place. Great service, cozy ambiance, feels like second home. Thanks to the staff who made our stay so comfortable. Highly recommend River Manor if you’re looking for quiet and relaxing atmosphere

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anatolyp2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear Anatol

Thank you for choosing River Manor Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Stellenbosch, and for taking the time to post such a great review. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us.

I will share your lovely comments with the team, who always appreciate compliments on their service, and passion for excellence. We also really appreciate your recommendation and strong endorsement.

Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area, and what we can do to assist. We would love to welcome you back to River Manor Boutique Hotel, or another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Franschhoek, Hermanus and Robertson.

Many thanks and warm regards.

Lorraine



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024

When we booked the photos showed a nice room with a full sized window. When we arrived we were told the only room available was a loft room only accessible by two flights of external fire escape stairs . Wouldn’t feel safe walking down them in the rain. I do not believe for a moment that this is the room we booked, given my wife’s two artificial knees.
We left the next morning for more suitable accommodation but the hotel refused to refund for the night we did not stay.
The hotel is like Forest Gump’s box of chocolates. You don’t know what you are going to get

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear Michael

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have taken the past few weeks to fully investigate what occurred to cause such dissatisfaction. We take our commitment to our guests very seriously and we are proud of our strong reputation and great service culture, so an issue like this is disappointing.

On your arrival, you were indeed given the entry level room that you booked, which is generally a popular room. You then informed the team of your wife's knee conditions. It was explained to you that the hotel was full, and everyone had already check in so a move was not possible on that day, but the following day we could move things around and give you a poolside room on the ground floor. You agree to this, but the following morning did not want to look at the alternative room and checked out. It is indeed a shame that we could not be given an opportunity to change your mind.

Thanks again for choosing us, and we wish you well.

Warm regards.

Lorraine



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

You cannot beat the location of this boutique hotel. The hotel is a collection of several beautiful historical buildings. The property has two pools, so there is no overcrowding. The staff is super friendly and always helpful with whatever your needs or wishes may be. The hotel offerers a complimentary hight tea and had a 24 hr coffee bar. The breakfast was absolutely the BEST with a huge selection of cold European and hot English/ American choices. Plenty of fresh fruits, yogurts and pastries.
They also offer a light lunch and dinner menu. But the hotel is an easy 5min walk to the center of Stellenbosch with its amazing selection of restaurants, ice cream parlors and chic coffee shops.

Since the buildings are all historically, there is really only one international outlet option on the desk in each room. No other outlet by the bed for your phone. So if you have several devices like we did, you have to take turns in charging them. There is also no mini fridge in any of the rooms and the WiFi in our room (#6) was very weak to none, unless you kept the door open and they had to provide an extender to make it work

Room tip: Bring your own South African and/or European power adapters.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank BertinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Der Bertin

Thank you for writing such a great review, and for choosing River Manor Boutique Hotel for your recent trip to Stellenbosch. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

The garden areas and pools are always very popular, and very quiet and secluded which is great in a town center location, so I am pleased that you enjoyed this. Thanks also for the great compliments on the food and beverage offering, we are very happy to read how much you liked this.

As I am sure you are aware, all of our hotels are recognised as Leaders in Sustainable Tourism, something very close to our heart. As a result, we do not have minifridges, but we have 24 hour butler service, so whatever you may need is available at any time of the day or night. We have bed side lights on either side of the bed, which are plugged in so I am a little confused by your charging challenge - but thanks for the heads up, I will look into it and, if needs be, correct that immediately.

Please let me know when you are planning your next trip to the area. we would love to welcome you back to River Manor Boutique Hotel, or another one of The Living Journey Collection in Franschhoek, Cape Town, Hermanus and Robertson.

Many thanks and warm regards.

Lorraine




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

This is such a lovely littel hotel in the heart of Stellenbosch. The location is terrific as it's just a couple of blocks from the center, but along a riverside park which is quiet and calm. The breakfast is wonderful, as is the staff. I have stayed twice, once in a regular room and the last trip in a top floor suite in the old building. I highly recommend that suite. It's huge, the bathroom is quite large, it's quiet and it's just a lovely all around space. AC works well. I would come back here again in a heartbeat, especially as it's such great value. There are two swimming pools in two separate gardens and they are so nice on a hot day. My friends and I spent a lovely evening in the pool sipping sparkling wine and chatting.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank annieh0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine Schaefer, Owner at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Dear Annie

Many thanks for choosing River Manor Boutique Hotel again, we really appreciate it, and thank you for posting such a wonderful review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us again. We get a lot of feedback about the pool and garden areas, which are relaxing and lovely in every event, but obviously best of while chatting with friends and sipping some wonderful local Sparkling Wine.

Please stay in touch and let us know when you are planning your next trip to the area. We would love to welcome you back to River Manor Boutique Hotel, or to another one of The Living Journey Collection in Cape Town, Franschhoek, Hermanus and Robertson.

Many thanks again and warm regards,

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews