We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tonia”
Review of Helena's

Helena's
Ranked #4 of 264 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Helena's Restaurant at Coopmanhuijs aims to serve heritage food with finesse, often with subtle twists in the detail, thereby turning the familiar into the spectacular. The menu is designed to reflect the bounty of the Boland, with specific emphasis on freshness and food provenance - the "from where" and "by whom" of locally sourced (often artisanal) ingredients.
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent lunch on the patio. Wine is a little overpriced but food was well prepared. Perfect Kingklip, luscious risotto, delicious cheesecake. Friendly, efficient servers.

Thank Tonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Tonia S,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 226 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2016

The ambiance was wonderful and the meal superb. We had the gnocchi as a starter and the lamb as a main. We will definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynnk828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear lynnk828,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Helena's is located in the Coopmanhuijs hotel, so it is very convenient if you are staying in the hotel! However, it is also extremely convenient in the downtown area. They have both inside (slightly more elegant) and sidewalk cafe eating options. Everything was fresh and prepared with care. They had a number of options that included local delicacies (ostrich!) and vegetarian choices.

Thank DrQuinnVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear DrQuinnVA,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This restaurant is inside of a very quaint Dutch hotel. The food was delicious. Nice portions, prompt service and the wine was divine.

Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Karen K,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I had Kingklip on mielies. Fish was so over-done and so dry and cold. On top of mielies - just cut from the cob. The whole plate just asked for something saucy (reduction/lemon-butter/gravy) to bind it together. What a disappointment. The risotto starter was good.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
2  Thank kingklip2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helena's also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Helena's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing