We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Curry dishes”
Review of Basic Bistro

Basic Bistro
Ranked #9 of 308 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Basic Bistro is cosy restaurant right in the heart of Stellenbosch. We have been making locals and strangers feel at home for many years, with a dedicated focus on using quality ingredients to prepare all meals while setting a comfortable and intimate atmosphere for our guests. We focus on creating Gourmet Burgers, Bountiful Pasta Dishes, Flavoursome Lamb Curry, Matured Steak and Espresso Based Coffees of International Standard. We also pride ourselves in a finely selected and intimate wine list that ranges from 'Easy Drinking' to 'Connoisseur Wines'. Cool down with a White Wine Cocktail, Iced Coffee or Real Fruit Pulp Milkshake topped with whipped cream. Or perhaps calm down with a pot of High Mountain Tea, produced by the tea experts at Nigiro. Have a romantic evening in the corner or invite your friends for a Burger and Craft beer - whatever you do, we hope to make you feel right at home.
Reviewed 16 November 2018

good Service - good Food - affordable Price - central in the City Centre - small Restaurant with some tables outside

Make a Reservation!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Hello Stefan!
______________________________________________________________________

Such a short and sweet review, thank you!
______________________________________________________________________

Your review is much appreciated and we love it that you love it here with us! ______________________________________________________________________

Hope to serve you with some bistro classics again soon!
______________________________________________________________________

Cosy regards and safe travels!
______________________________________________________________________

Rico Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Been trying to get a table at Basic Bistro for two weeks on a walk in basis and today was my lucky night. The restaurant is small inside with cosy interesting decor and a lovely small outside patio. I tried the most fabulous sloooooowwww cooked pulled pork curry served with baby marrow, rice and beans topped with coriander. Then i tried their new addition- magic mousse - chocolate mousse made out of avocado and other tasty bits. It just blew my mind - smooth, tasty and not sweet - a must try for any chocoholic.
So book to avoid disappointment its well worth it!!!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank kimfT2156UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Hello Kim!
______________________________________________________________________

What a great review thank you!
______________________________________________________________________

Your review is much appreciated and we love it that you love it here with us! ______________________________________________________________________

Hope to dine with you again very soon!
______________________________________________________________________

Cosy regards and safe travels!
______________________________________________________________________

Rico Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

My wife and I found this little place by chance walking on the vibrant Church Street. They were fully booked but they made room for us! My wife enjoys vegetarian meals and they had a delightful menu purely for vegans and vegetarians.
We were served by Anna. She offered a fantastic service and was friendly and accommodating. The food was amazing! Bursting with flavours; simple ingredients but amazing dishes. I had the chicken tikka salad, it was the best ever! It was tasty and flavoursome and fresh with gorgeous ingredients. My wife had the Bruce Lee vegan burger! The Thai sauce had a kick but most enjoyable. Thanks for great food and a great service!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MatthewW3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Hello Matthew!
______________________________________________________________________

Thanks very much, it is so nice to hear from you on our our TripAdvisor page!
______________________________________________________________________

Your review is much appreciated and we love it that you love it here with us! ______________________________________________________________________

Hope to dine with you again very soon, and we will defs pass the message on to Anna and the staff!
______________________________________________________________________

Cosy regards and safe travels!
______________________________________________________________________

Rico Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

Our lunch-time stop to meet with a friend at Basic Bistro was a good choice. The service was friendly and quick and the food very good.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Hello Wim!
______________________________________________________________________

Thanks very much, it is so nice to hear from you on our our TripAdvisor page!
______________________________________________________________________

Your review is much appreciated and we love it that you love it here with us! ______________________________________________________________________

Hope to dine with you again very soon!
______________________________________________________________________

Cosy regards and safe travels!
______________________________________________________________________

Rico Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Wanted to have a snack downtown Stellenbosch after a round of golf. The bistro was already pretty packed and we had no reservation but we got a very friendly welcome. Instantly we got a table for 4 persons. Food was good but the atmosphere and service was the difference. And all for reasonable price.
Even though our table was reserved we had no problems to stay longer. Very good service.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jens_diersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thanks for the great review Jens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basic Bistro also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Basic Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing