We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Basic Bistro

Basic Bistro
Ranked #12 of 262 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Basic Bistro is cosy restaurant right in the heart of Stellenbosch. We have been making locals and strangers feel at home for many years, with a dedicated focus on using quality ingredients to prepare all meals while setting a comfortable and intimate atmosphere for our guests. We focus on creating Gourmet Burgers, Bountiful Pasta Dishes, Flavoursome Lamb Curry, Matured Steak and Espresso Based Coffees of International Standard. We also pride ourselves in a finely selected and intimate wine list that ranges from 'Easy Drinking' to 'Connoisseur Wines'. Cool down with a White Wine Cocktail, Iced Coffee or Real Fruit Pulp Milkshake topped with whipped cream. Or perhaps calm down with a pot of High Mountain Tea, produced by the tea experts at Nigiro. Have a romantic evening in the corner or invite your friends for a Burger and Craft beer - whatever you do, we hope to make you feel right at home.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was here on a Saturday for lunch with family. We all had burgers served with thinly sliced chips covered with a balsamic glaze! Its different but tastes really good. Its a very friendly place with excellent service. Good value for money.
Was my second visit here and will highly recommend this little gem.

Thank Springbokkieno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi

Thanks so much for that great review!

We are so happy that you enjoyed our little bistro and we hope to see you again very soon!

Cosy regards

Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Basic Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We walked in with no booking and were seated quickly. The food was tasty, unusually for me I had a burger, Camemburger, which was superb - the camembert was the only good strong cheese we had in our whole trip, I actually thought it was imported. My husband had a stir fry which he thought had great flavours. We shared a Greek lemon pudding, again full of flavour.

One unusual item was the non alcoholic cocktail - very good - few places seem to do these where we went in South Africa.

The whole meal was incredible value, with excellent and friendly staff. Not fine dining but really worth a visit.

Thank banstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi

Thanks so much for that great review!

We are so happy that you enjoyed our little bistro and we hope to see you again very soon!

Cosy regards

Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

This was a quirky little eatery with a great selection of food which was great in taste and really good portion sizes.

Prices were also really reasonable.

I'd only say that its hard to differentiate he waitresses as they are in casual clothes so it wasn't always clear who you could ask.

Other than that, very good and definitely recommend for a nice bite.

Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi Sam

Thanks for the review!

I have made a note to re-evaluate the way our waiters dress and I have already sent them some clear guidelines on the group.

Hope to see you again soon!

Cosy regards

Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

After an absence of two years we chose to go have soup and hot chocolate after a university event last Friday. We arrived after 21:30 and received a warm welcome from our waitron who provide us with superb service at that late hour as they close at 22:00. We so enjoyed the experience we went back the following night at a similar time to be greeted warmly. The soup and chocolate was excellent and the ambience was great.

Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi Clive

So good to hear about your experience!

And thank you for writing a great review for us here!

Hope to see you soon!

Cosy regards

Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Big, hearty, tasty and good value for money! Chilled out, informal vibe. The steak sandwich with wafer fries really delicious. Burger also really good!

Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico W, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for the review Jane!

Really happy you enjoyed our bistro and we hope to see you again soon - lots more for you to try!

Cosy regards

Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basic Bistro also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Basic Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing