We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
393
97
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
97
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful garden homemade bread within walking distance wonderful hosts wonderful breakfast bed and breakfast place to stay lovely place visiting stellenbosch guest house secure parking centre of town enjoyed my stay stayed nights wonderful stay wine tasting evelyn
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Gorgeous place, calm setting, excellent breakfast. B&B is run by caring owner and long term manager. Well situated to quickly access center of town on foot. We had a wonderful relaxed stay. Would happily return. Easy parking.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Billynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wietske2016, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

We sincerely appreciate your kind words. It was indeed a pleasure having you here. Evelyn is an absolute gem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

When arrived told would be double the rate. Wanted to leave because this was not what was expected and told could not get money back (they had us wire money — first red flag). Even though bed and breakfast, we were “punished” by not getting breakfast. Night was miserable because a bright stone light flashed all night right outside window. Seemed like some sort of torture experiment. Also could not use the bathroom after dark because light did not work and it was pitch black. I strongly encourage you to avoid being in the extremely uncomfortable situation we were placed in. Worst experience I have ever had and I have traveled all over the world.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jlgalg13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wietske2016, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

The root cause of this terrible experience for both parties is the fact that you lied when booking by indicating that the two children were under the age of two when in fact they were 17 and 18 years old respectively. We queried this on at least three occasions prior to arrival, yet you elected not to rectify the facts. When this was pointed out to you on arrival, and that there were necessarily cost implications, you chose attack as the best form of defence, and perpetuated this in this review, making several false statements.
You also did not honour your undertaking of paying the balance on arrival, as agreed. The fact of the matter is that four adults slept for the price of two, a concession we made in order not to inconvenience you to have to look for accommodation at that time of night in peak season.
I think the fact that over 98% of the other 478 reviews here reflect a different experience, proves my point beyond further discussion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We spent two days here during our visit to Stellenbosch. The owners were great about answering all of our questions beforehand and the hotel garden is simply stunning, that is where we spent most of our time. The rooms lack a certain something and feel a bit threadbare and like student apartments. We then later learned that in winter students from the university do in fact live in the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michelejeannine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wietske2016, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

So glad you enjoyed the garden. Thanks also for the lovely photos. Unfortunately, there may be a misunderstanding about what you experienced as "threadbare". Because it is so hot in summer, and most guests actually make use of the air conditioning, we remove the warm blankets and duvets to save guests the trouble of doing so.The beds are made with 100 % cotton fitted and flat sheets with a 100% cotton throw. Should guests prefer plush duvets , they will find it in the large built in cupboards in their room , crisply covered in 100 % 205 TC cotton, ready to be used. Please allow me to explain about the students. We accommodate post graduate students from all over the world for three weeks at cost price when they come here to provide training to previously disadvantaged children. That is our contribution to upliftment of the less fortunate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This guest house is very well situated both for driving out into the Winelands and for getting into the most interesting central streets o Stellenbosch - a little far I thought to walk as coming from London it seems quite hot but I always found a parking space. The staff are a very happy seeming, friendly team and they produce excellent breakfasts. My room was pleasant and comfortable though - even with an electric fan - too hot and stuffy to sleep soundly through the night.

Room Tip: Possibly a ground floor room would be cooler?
Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hazel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wietske2016, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. This is of course peak summer season in South Africa, as opposed to winter in the UK. Perhaps we did not clearly enunciate enough the availability of the air conditioning which, in addition to the oscilating fan, ensures our guests with a great sleeping experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We had a wonderful 3 days staying at 10 Alexander. The hosts were helpful and accessable, as well as informative. The rooms were clean, well equipped, and comfortable. The breakfast was fresh and delicious, without being excessive. The restaurants in town are within walking distance, making dinner outings easy and car-free.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yesenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wietske2016, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you so much, Yesenia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews