We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janetta K
Brandon

Overnight

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Dec 2023
The staff were fabulous but the room was too hot and stuffy. Blackouts didn’t help. Opening the windows didn’t help much, slightly cooler but very noisy. By comparison, the Vineyard Hotel where we spent the following night, was superior in every respect at the same price.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Dear 822janettak
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us. We are busy with our second fase of solar inverter installation currently.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 978
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 125
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 294
R 2 104
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 497
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 621
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 038
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 672
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 847
  • Hotels.com
4.9 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 499
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 723
6.3 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
A nice bedroom, including wall heater for those cold winter nights.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 692
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free parking
View more hotels in Stellenbosch
Reviews (1 512)
Filter reviews
1 512 results
Traveller rating
1 195
244
42
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 195
244
42
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helena's restaurant valet parking church street beautiful hotel middle of town eggs benedict small hotel perfect location central stellenbosch attention to detail restaurants and shops wonderful stay comfortable rooms cape town south africa heart wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1 512 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2023

We were a group of travellers to South Africa and - of course - Stellenbosch.
The very last evening , we had dinner in this restaurant. It was not only delicious, but everybody was very attentive to our needs. The presentation of the dishes were very appetizing .

Thank you Muzi, for the excellent service , and thank you as well, Neal, for your kind smile.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IraAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

Dear IraAngela, Thank you for taking the time to write the review for Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love if you would review our restaurant, Helena's Restaurant, as well.
Kind regards Suzaan Groenewald General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2023

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing
What a find. If you are in Stellenbosh and don’t stay here you are bonkers.
Amazing staff in all departments, Suzzane the manager and Angelique were so helpful,on the phone in the weeks before we arrived, and them and their front desk staff were our personal PAs for 5 days. Big big hugs to you all. Arranged tours, transfers, dental appointments, escourt to dentist, pharmacists, constant fresh milk and lemon in room, and so much more.Really kind and efficient and friendly.
William deserves, special mention always around, always helping, the hotel is lucky to have him. Took our bags up,to day room for us to wash and change before our room was ready, arrived so early in the morning then bumped them around for our stay, brought our needs to our room, took my wife to the dentist and kept our plugs and devices working.
I need cpap machine for sleep apnea and Suzanne and william arranged for me always to have a huge battery in my room at night in case of outages.
Their restaurant is Michelin quality, and the chef is a huge asset. Helena’s their restaurant so, so, so, tasty imaginative and he will get a Michelin star one day hopefully here but would bet my house it could be a top 5 star in Capetown. We ate every night on their terrace overlooking church street. Tumblers, Knossos singers and dancers, opera stars entertained all night,
Every and I mean every restaurant staff, the host, waiters, busboys soo so efficient. A great very reasonable wine list of local wines, on the last day we asked for a special treat, they sourced wonderful local springbok and superstar chef cooked it rare perfectly in a red berry sauce. Al dente garden vegetables.deserts amazing, cheese board for a king , the merunge and filo apple deserve a mention, the trout, lime fish, amd ostrich delight.. chef Ronaldo and his amazing sous chefs a HUGE thankyou . Did I forget seafood mild curry.
Pindele the night manager and a pastor, charity organiser and friend you are a star to look after me all night and worry my cpap was working in outages.
I hope the owners know how lucky they are and open a boutique of this quality and cost effective in Capetown on the waterfront, I would invest and stay there. A dream home, and holiday come true kiss kiss kiss.
To all the unnamed ladies and gentleman servers for meals and a wonderful breakfast thanks for your attention. Housekeeping could clean a palace.
Dr Malcolm xxx

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2023

Dear Dr and Mrs Malcolm
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us. Reviews like yours make all the staff feel appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2023

We had 2 wonderful nights at this boutique hotel. Located perfectly in the middle of town, close to many shops and wine bars. Our room was beautiful with a small balcony overlooking the pool area. Thanks to all the wonderful staff for making our stay wonderful.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Dear geraldinesS8276EE
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2023 via mobile

The welcome from the hotel staff set the superb atmosphere and hospitality feeling right from the start. Everyone was pleasant and helpful and the quality of the service, food, and information was the best I have seen. Some staff to mention as super performers .. William was always helpful and interested in our well-being, Angelique at the front desk provided us superb assistance… these staff members truly embodied the spirit of comfort for the guests and an excellent feeling of luxury. We highly recommend this hotel because of the staff service and quality of the accommodations, food and perfect location in the town of Stellenbosch.

Room tip: Parking is a challenge but the hotel staff helped with that also
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RPE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Dear RPE01
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

This was our first stay on our honeymoon, a beautiful hotel set in stellenbosch, the staff were always really friendly and helpful and the rooms decorated beautifully and brilliant facilities, we felt really at home on this hotel and the added luxury of a balcony was brilliant, we were left water each day and a little treat and had the option of a minibar which we chose not only use, the robes in the rooms are a lovely addition and the pool area is a nice little spot to relax, it is also right in the centre of stellenbosch meaning it is easy to walk around or have access to other areas locally, highly recommend this hotel we would definitely stay again. We also ate at Helena’s restaurant and I can honestly say it was the best steak I have ever had!

Room tip: Not much local parking but wonderful place to stay
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Dear Hannah J
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews