We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Geraldine S

Wonderful stay in the middle of town

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Nov 2023
We had 2 wonderful nights at this boutique hotel. Located perfectly in the middle of town, close to many shops and wine bars. Our room was beautiful with a small balcony overlooking the pool area. Thanks to all the wonderful staff for making our stay wonderful.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Dear geraldinesS8276EE
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 184
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 349
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 000
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 349
0.3 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 455
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 326
  • Vio.com
    R 2 154
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 326
0.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 969
R 2 090
  • Priceline
    R 2 090
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 200
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 090
2.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 375
R 2 300
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 300
  • Priceline
    R 2 300
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 300
1.2 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 124
R 1 320
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 124
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 124
  • Priceline
    R 1 320
0.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 295
  • Vio.com
    R 2 933
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 672
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 966
6.0 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 994
R 3 021
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 3 021
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 955
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 955
4.9 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 937
R 1 475
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 723
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 475
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 937
6.3 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 774
R 2 566
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 750
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 750
  • Priceline
    R 2 774
5.8 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
A nice bedroom, including wall heater for those cold winter nights.
R 700
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 700
  • Trip.com
    R 696
  • Expedia.com
    R 700
1.6 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free parking
View more hotels in Stellenbosch
Reviews (1 511)
Filter reviews
1 512 results
Traveller rating
1 195
244
42
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 195
244
42
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helena's restaurant valet parking church street beautiful hotel middle of town eggs benedict small hotel perfect location central stellenbosch attention to detail restaurants and shops wonderful stay comfortable rooms cape town south africa heart wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1 512 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2023 via mobile

The welcome from the hotel staff set the superb atmosphere and hospitality feeling right from the start. Everyone was pleasant and helpful and the quality of the service, food, and information was the best I have seen. Some staff to mention as super performers .. William was always helpful and interested in our well-being, Angelique at the front desk provided us superb assistance… these staff members truly embodied the spirit of comfort for the guests and an excellent feeling of luxury. We highly recommend this hotel because of the staff service and quality of the accommodations, food and perfect location in the town of Stellenbosch.

Room tip: Parking is a challenge but the hotel staff helped with that also
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RPE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Dear RPE01
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

This was our first stay on our honeymoon, a beautiful hotel set in stellenbosch, the staff were always really friendly and helpful and the rooms decorated beautifully and brilliant facilities, we felt really at home on this hotel and the added luxury of a balcony was brilliant, we were left water each day and a little treat and had the option of a minibar which we chose not only use, the robes in the rooms are a lovely addition and the pool area is a nice little spot to relax, it is also right in the centre of stellenbosch meaning it is easy to walk around or have access to other areas locally, highly recommend this hotel we would definitely stay again. We also ate at Helena’s restaurant and I can honestly say it was the best steak I have ever had!

Room tip: Not much local parking but wonderful place to stay
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Dear Hannah J
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023

We had an amazing experience at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa in the heart of Stellenbosch. We stayed there for our anniversary and enjoyed it so much! The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. They went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Our room was beautiful with some old-world class. The breakfast at Helena’s Restaurant was stunning. The food was fresh, delicious, and beautifully presented. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing and memorable getaway in Stellenbosch.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Dear Wim78
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2023

This wonderful building dates back to 1713 - so much history right in the
centre of town
The restaurant (called Helena's) prides itself on excellent food and it does live up to its reputation
Rooms are comfortable, kind of old fashioned in keeping with the history. Staff are really great and
if you. have a vehicle they will take it away and park it for you
Situation in Church street is perfect for walking everywhere around town

Room tip: One should book dinner in the restaurant as it is very popular
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AfricaTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2023

Dear AfricaTraveller007
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2023

Thanks to the whole team that made our stay at Coopmanhuijs extra special! We spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel and loved every minute. The staff really make you feel at home and comfortable. Our room was very clean, big and the bed very comfortable. The housekeeping girls were so friendly and always asking about our day and if we needed anything.
Breakfast was exceptional and we loved sitting on the veranda every morning while having a coffee.
Thanks, and we will be back next time we come to South Africa!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jasmine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Jasminev780
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews