We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 4 833
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 487)
Filter reviews
1 487 results
Traveller rating
1 170
244
42
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 170
244
42
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helena's restaurant valet parking church street beautiful hotel middle of town eggs benedict small hotel perfect location central stellenbosch attention to detail restaurants and shops wonderful stay comfortable rooms cape town south africa heart wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1 487 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2023

This wonderful building dates back to 1713 - so much history right in the
centre of town
The restaurant (called Helena's) prides itself on excellent food and it does live up to its reputation
Rooms are comfortable, kind of old fashioned in keeping with the history. Staff are really great and
if you. have a vehicle they will take it away and park it for you
Situation in Church street is perfect for walking everywhere around town

Room tip: One should book dinner in the restaurant as it is very popular
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AfricaTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2023

Dear AfricaTraveller007
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2023

Thanks to the whole team that made our stay at Coopmanhuijs extra special! We spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel and loved every minute. The staff really make you feel at home and comfortable. Our room was very clean, big and the bed very comfortable. The housekeeping girls were so friendly and always asking about our day and if we needed anything.
Breakfast was exceptional and we loved sitting on the veranda every morning while having a coffee.
Thanks, and we will be back next time we come to South Africa!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jasmine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Jasminev780
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2023 via mobile

Traditional hotel in the heart of Old Town Stellenbosch. Surrounded by bars, boutiques and restaurants.

Our room was nice, the food at Helena’s was good however lacked some ambience.

I had notified the hotel at time of booking 9 months ago and contacted them before we arrived which they acknowledged that we were celebrating my husbands 50th birthday on the day we arrived and asked for a bottle of something to be added to our room and to my bill. There was nothing. No mention of anything or acknowledging his birthday. All our other hotels we went to made a huge effort despite it not being his birthday while at their hotels. Very disappointing.

We enjoyed the food in Helena’s but beware if you choose the wine pairing it’s not as good as you would expect considering the location of this hotel. They did not talk through the wine and history , tasting or what you should get with a wine pairing.

In all honesty there is better hotels around Stellenbosch and I feel that this hotel is complacent.

Could of been much better.

Room tip: Busy road if you are driving
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RebeccaD1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Dear RebeccaD1630,

I want to express our sincere gratitude for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Your review holds great importance to us, and we take it very seriously. Rest assured that we will address the issues you've raised with the urgency and attention they deserve.

First and foremost, I extend my heartfelt apologies for the oversight regarding your husband's birthday. It appears that your initial correspondence was with one of our employees, who has since moved on from our company, leading to a regrettable miscommunication. I deeply regret that we failed to make you and your husband feel exceptionally welcome and valued during your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We take great pride in the consistent positive feedback we receive from our guests on platforms like TripAdvisor, where they commend the exceptional service they receive from our staff at all times.

Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2023

Was back for a quick one night stay at Coopmanhuijs Hotel. Loved everything about it again. And even better, they now have solar backup.
Breakfast was amazing as usual and the staff really attentive and welcoming. This is my home away from home in Stellenbosch and can not recommend it enough!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Dear J6485NLsueb
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2023

We were moved from their sister hotel, The Stellenbosch Hotel, and so glad we were. This is a lovely place, bang centre of Stellenbosch. So bang centre its impossible to park but they have a valet parking service, so rock up close, tell them where your car is and they will park it for you. Bars and restaurants everywhere. The staff are incredibly professional and courteous, onsite also is a top rated restaurant, Helena's. Rooms have everything you could need, very luxurious, decorated in old style which is'nt usually my taste but I loved staying here. Feels five star. Kept in very good order, carpets etc scrupulously clean. Rolls Royce parked right outside overnight which tells you something. You could not need more amenities in your room. Huge attention to detail and they really ensure you are comfortable. For sure I am staying here again when next in this lovely town. Next morning, fantastic breakfast (famous apparently) checked out, asked for the car which arrived in less than five minutes, and we were on the move. Don't be put off by the price, here, you DO get what you pay for.

Room tip: Remember valet parking. Don't panic if there is no room to park.Jump out, tell them where your car is and they will move it immediately.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Dear tonyjane
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again!
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews