We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Klaus E

Wonderful stay in Stellenbosch

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Apr 2022
Very nice boutique hotel in the middle of town! Very sympathisch Service and fast valet parking. Breakfast good very good quality and reception friendly and helpful all the time! Thanks to entire team for this wonderful stay!
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 02 Apr 2022
Dear Klauselsbacher
Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review for Coopmanhuijs Boutique hotel and Spa.
The team are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Suzaan Groenewald
General manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 184
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 012
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 355
0.3 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 128
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 576
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 970
0.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 969
R 2 090
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 205
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 090
2.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 381
R 2 300
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 306
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 306
1.2 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 129
R 1 320
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 320
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 129
0.1 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 159
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 672
  • Vio.com
6.0 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 937
R 1 475
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 727
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 475
6.3 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 757
R 2 566
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 757
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 750
5.8 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
A nice bedroom, including wall heater for those cold winter nights.
R 700
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 702
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
1.6 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 3 021
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 964
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 955
4.9 km from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Stellenbosch
Reviews (1 511)
Filter reviews
1 512 results
Traveller rating
1 195
244
42
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 195
244
42
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helena's restaurant valet parking church street beautiful hotel middle of town eggs benedict small hotel perfect location central stellenbosch attention to detail restaurants and shops wonderful stay comfortable rooms cape town south africa heart wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 1 512 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2022

We booked this and arrived within an hour. The hotel staff were so welcoming on arriving, greeting us with a glass of Champagne and took us into a lounge area where the open fire was lit, which was so lovely. Room and en-suite were lovely and clean but our room did not have an outside window which spoilt it a little but we had booked the last available room so was grateful we had a room.

Breakfast was amazing with a great choice. We ate at the hotel one evening and both had the set menu. Oh my gosh, this was not just great food, it was the best we had had during our 3 weeks in South Africa and the food just kept coming. We couldn't move afterwards as there was so much quality food that we didn't want to leave any uneaten. Amazing!!

Staff were very friendly and the pool was nice, although it is not heated. My only negative thing I would say, but it didn't spoil our stay in any way, is that the loungers do not get any sun on them due to the building blocking it. It was still relaxing sitting on the lounger reading a book.

It is in a great location, with all the shops, bars and restaurants in walking distance so would I stay here again....YES without a doubt but I would book early and have the room with the balcony facing on to the pool.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beautylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2022

Dear Beautylass

The team here at Helena’s Restaurant @ Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2022 via mobile

Great reception, had a table at Helena’s restaurant outside on the patio. Calming vibe, yet in the heart of Stellwnbosch. Very pleasant and polite staff…glasses always full, prompt food, delicious and tasty. Compliments to the kitchen staff and good waiters! 5/5👌🏼

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2022

Hello Neilbar007,

We at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are happy to receive such a great rating. Looking forward to having you visit us again, soon!

Warm regards,
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2022

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming and historic hotel in the heart of Stellenbosch. The welcome was friendly with valet parking for our car. The room was spotless with modern fittings that belied the age of the hotel. The in-house restaurant provided a generous breakfast and excellent evening meals during our stay. One could almost imagine one was in any European city looking out from our room to the street below. Located near to boutique shops, many restaurants and historic buildings the hotel that can be highly recommended for a stay in Stellenbosch.

Room tip: Book Room 3 ...
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2022


Hi HouseC1015,

The team here at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2022

A warm welcome and incredibly helpful staff. Could not be more central and perfect to walk around town. The team looked after all the details of getting out and about and made sure we could see as much as possible in the time we had.

Date of stay: March 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoeFattorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2022


Hi JoeFattorini,

The team here at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Suzaan Groenewald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2022 via mobile

We were very impressed in the way in which our previous complaint regarding our accommodation was handled by Jolandi and are looking forward to returning to Coopmanhuijs and Helena’s Restaurant… which is one of our favorite restaurants in Stellenbosch.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curiosity58354295134
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2022


Hi Curiosity58354295134,

The team here at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are very happy to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Jolandi Tito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews