We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 006)
Filter reviews
1 006 results
Traveller rating
750
199
32
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
199
32
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helena's restaurant perfect hotel church street small hotel middle of town central location large bathroom excellent location underfloor heating restaurants and shops home from home wonderful stay attention to detail cape town wine country breakfast was delicious wine tour
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 006 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. We ate in Helena’s restaurant on the first night - very good food and wine (obviously).

Valet parking is excellent. Check in was easy and the room was a good size and well positioned. Large bathroom.

Pool area was nice and the spa was excellent for our massages we pre-booked.

Front of house was excellent. Great service from the front desk at all times.

Breakfast was ok. I would say the only negative is that the service was friendly but not that efficient. It was quite challenging to get people’s attention at dinner. Also felt that at breakfast the staff seemed really busy (not sure what they were doing) and it was hard to get their attention for orders etc.. they also got our food orders wrong both days.

An excellent hotel and I would recommend you stay here if you stay in Stellenbosch.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sfergus1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sfergus1979,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely pleased that Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa catered to your needs and that all expectations were met. Your compliments are truly inspirational.

I have to apologise for the lack of service you have received from the restaurants side. I can assure you that this is not the standard level of service we offer to any of our guests. The waiters in question have been reprimanded and further actions have been taken to ensure this lack of service will not happen to any of our other guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home-from-home in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jolandi Potgieter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

from the moment i stepped into this hotel,from check in to check out,i was made to feel at home. the staff was friendly and attentive to details.the breakfast was more than i bargained for, overall handsomeness and truly delicious..dinner did not disappoint.. everything was well priced :real value for money.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pioneer63568932718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Pioneer63568932718,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely pleased that Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa catered to your needs and that all expectations were met. Your compliments are truly inspirational.

We so appreciate your positive feedback on Helena's Restaurant. Helena's is also listed on TripAdvisor and we would be thrilled if you took the time to review the restaurant as well. We would want future guests to have the same positive dining experience in-house.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home-from-home in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jolandi Potgieter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Great Service and destination to visit.. The room was nicely decorated and had all the needs supplied like , bottled water, drinks, chocolate etc. I particularly like the book shelf and the chairs and table to read. The view to the road was interesting as I could see the sunrise.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dreamer49230021974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Dreamer49230021974,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely pleased that Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa catered to your needs and that all expectations were met. Your compliments are truly inspirational.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home-from-home in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jolandi Potgieter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Room was world class in a boutique hotel. Food was great and awesome coffee.

I really appreciate the excellent service received from all the staff.

It was easier going for a jog in Stellenbosch than Cape CBD. Great place to shop for antiques and wine.

Room tip: Choose room with Shower and bath. Choose room close to the road, great view of the sun rise
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Discover827666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear charmaine N,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely pleased that Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa catered to your needs and that all expectations were met. Your compliments are truly inspirational.

We so appreciate your positive feedback on Helena's Restaurant. Helena's is also listed on TripAdvisor and we would be thrilled if you took the time to review the restaurant as well. We would want future guests to have the same positive dining experience in-house.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home-from-home in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jolandi Potgieter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Welcome was very good, hotel is pretty unique in its old colonial structure and decoration. We stayed in a luxury room overlooking the pool, it was quiet and serviced morning and evening and again fixtures and fittings were nice. Staff were really helpful and informative giving some handy tips. No negatives here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aidan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Aidan B,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely pleased that Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa catered to your needs and that all expectations were met. Your compliments are truly inspirational.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home-from-home in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jolandi Potgieter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews