We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small menu but excellent food”

Hillcrest Berry Orchard
Ranked #46 of 323 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: R 18 - R 18
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 30 April 2022

Four of us visited Hillcrest Berry Farm and sat outside to enjoy the magnificent view of the mountains. The menu is small but we all ordered the bobotie dish for lunch, which is a traditional South African dish. The bobotie is by far the best we have ever eaten in a restaurant: the curry is spicy but mild, accompanied by a berry chutney, roasted coconut and a sambal. I can highly recommend this dish if you enjoy curry dishes.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Goldfinch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2022

Bought lots of fruit and other goodies from the farm stall and decided that we needed coffee and ice creams.
Lovely vista to look over, relaxed and laid back. Fruits were delicious and well priced. The best place to buy.

Date of visit: February 2022
1  Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2021

15 years in resort management has tought me your best review is only as good as your weakest staff member. In this case, it was the breakfast shift manager, a gentle man who should know that his hat and attitude are both inappropriate for his position.

I commend his wait staff, who chose to put the guest ahead of his ill decision making skills.

As for the breakfast menu, the farmers breakfast with a serving of potato, mushrooms and cheese made it to the top of the list for all 10 family members. The coffee brand is probably one of the best brands I have had in a while, the varieties of jams and jellies almost makes you ferl like jam heaven - a patronage to the wealth of the western cape fruitful soil.

If you are open to an adventurous breakfast, the wafel with avo mouse, tomato and bacon hit many of the blocks on my score card. The lemonade needs some serious work, but the yougurt based berry smoothies are a great hit for the health conscious.

Date of visit: December 2021
1  Thank me0plus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2021

What a spoil! What a treat! An amazing setting with comfy beanbags, large blankets and generous umbrellas to protect us from a scorcher of a day. Enjoyed a relaxing day on the lawn , shoes off and soaking in the ambiance. Fabulous, generous food served by our friendly waiter, Billy.
Absolutely perfect way to spend Christmas Day with our family and friends. Email communication with Misha to as spot on.
Grateful 🙏🏻 thanks for an amazing special occasion!

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2021

I can not rate the service badly as there were no service. The staff did not even bother to greet us or acknowledge our existence, so we just left.

Date of visit: December 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 595bethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hillcrest Berry Orchard also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Hillcrest Berry Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.