We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2017

This is our second stay at clouds. I do not understand how they have assigned the rooms WE booked 3 Deluxe rooms with only 1 I would have classed as deluxe. The view is what makes this venue special and only one of the rooms were on the top floor. My room was on the same level as the pool with an outside door which you have to walk round the side of the property to access when the hotel is all locked up. You feel very exposed and I really didn't enjoy it. Also drying your hair is difficult if you need to use a mirror. don't think I would pay for deluxe again .the luxury rooms have a better view. The infinity pool is amazing if very cold Disappointed

Room Tip: Discuss which room is available for your dates Upper floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    75
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
57
326
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2017

We had a lovely stay at Clouds Estate. We were very impressed. Such a beautiful setting. I have stayed at quite a few places and I have to say this rates very highly. The villas have everything you need and are very specious and clean. The view is manificent. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank R8576HRjenniferf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bregenz, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2017

The Estate is beautiful and the Pool villas are great. Service perfect! Only the food could be better so it would be not necessary to drive to Stellenbosch etc. Next year we will come back of course and hopefully we get again Villa 8...

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2017

After a wonderful stay at the hotel for a weekend we forgot our Swarovski binoculars ($2000) in our room. Within 20 minutes of leaving the hotel we called management who said they had found it and would store it for us. Unfortunately when we returned after various calls to organize the return, the binoculars where nowhere to be found and management was in no way helpful. Shocking behavior.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2017

We stayed at clouds for two nights as some friends and family was staying there from overseas we have stayed there before and I always find the service and location 5 star we will be back again the bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 703beverleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
10.9 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
14.6 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1 719 reviews
3.3 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 km away
Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa
1.7 km away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Wine & Guest Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Wine & Guest Estate

Property: Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Address: Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price range (per night): R1 888 - R4 521
Hotel Class:5 star — Clouds Wine & Guest Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the world's most beautiful mountain passes, Clouds Wine and Guest Estate is one of the jewels of Helshoogte. The relatively small, private estate is a working farm that produces its own wines. It also offers premium guest accommodation that blends designer luxury with all the modcons. A stylish destination surrounded by incredible views, a stay at Clouds is difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clouds Wine & Guest Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing