We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view & great food”

Blacksmith's Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 111 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Blacksmith's Kitchen is a cosy estate restaurant, secretted away in the historic blacksmith's cottages on Pearl Mountain. Constructed in 1747, these two buildings predate the Manor House by some 70 years, and great effort has been take to preserve their original character. Indoor and outside seating are available, offering spectacular views of the Paarl Valley below. Executive Chef Douglas Adams’s menu is a fusion of classic Mediterranean and local influences, and all effort is taken to use the best locally-sourced fresh produce - including from the Pearl Mountain vegetable garden. Both of the Pearl Mountain wine ranges are also available from the wine list, or from the cellar door.
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Had lunch here. Unfortunately, we waited 1.5 hours for our main course. We took our own wine. Corkage was reasonable. I had the fillet with pepper sauce. It was sublime. Highly recommend it. Everyone enjoyed their meal. The white chocolate cheesecake was delicious.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Had a great after wedding party here, lovely interior, great views and good pizza. Definitely will be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Travel-Meisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We went there for lunch on a Sunday and had some pizza’s. The food and service was very good with a great view over the Paarl area. We sat outside and the place had a nice friendly vibe and seems to be vry popular. The can improve on their selection of wines and have more options availble,

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Carelcarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

It’s a hidden gem of paarl. The view is magnificent. Really like the wine especially the rose for summer and the merlot for winter. Friendly staff and great snack platters! This place shows the Paarl.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Hencko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

After reading many great reviews and never actually writing one myself - our experience at the Blacksmith's Kitchen finally nudged me to put pen to paper as it were. We opted to book a table out in the country to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Had a lovely drive out from the city, the valley welcomed us wearing its beautiful autumn coat and arrived at the beautiful Pearl Mountain Estate.

We felt that our "reserved" table was more of an afterthought than a considered spot for a birthday lunch, sort of tucked away at the back of the venue, near the kitchen. it took an hour for the first dish to arrive, a very tasty wild mushroom risotto which had unfortunately been waiting on the pass just a little too long. what was more disappointing is that the arrival of the rest of the dishes was a rather haphazard affair with up to five minutes intervals before we all had food before us. I had ordered the fillet and asked for it to be medium/rare, the first cut revealed only the slightest hint of pink! To the credit of the chef, a beautifully cooked replacement was served but not until the rest of our party had all but finished their meal. The waiting staff did redeem the situation to a degree by he plating of my daughter's desert, which 8 year old wouldn't be blown away by " Happy Birthday" emblazoned in chocolate sauce across a plate of chocolate brownies.

Unfortunately, the he lack of acknowledgment from the management added insult to what should have been a positively memorable experience!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sim0nm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSK84, Owner at Blacksmith's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear sim0nm67

I am sorry to hear that your experience at Blacksmiths Kitchen was not all that it could be. If you could please email me (luke[at]pearlmountain.co,za) with more details of your visit it would be very helpful in finding remedies to the problems you have highlighted.

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, I hope next time we inspire you to put 'pen to paper' it will be caused by the excellent experience you have had.

Kind regards

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blacksmith's Kitchen also viewed

Paarl, Western Cape
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Blacksmith's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing