We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Spit-Roast”

Backsberg Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 111 Restaurants in Paarl
Price range: US$60 - US$1 200
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is set in a beautiful country garden where we serve lunch outdoors if the weather is favourable and indoors beside a roaring fire in the chilly months. We have a varied a la carte menu, served from Wednesday to Saturday offering a wide variety of meals, all made with fresh ingredients and our tried-and-trusted recipes. Our wine list offers all the Backsberg favourites as well as some special wines only available at the estate. Your kids will feel at home too, with a jungle gym in the garden along with a jumping castle and loads of space to play. Our 3 Course Sunday Lunch is served each Sunday accompanied by live entertainment. Bookings are essential. Contact us for any special events, weddings and corporate functions catered to your specific needs.
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Good for a group and always popular the tables and chairs are set up under umbrellas in the paved courtyard.
Definitely go with a healthy appetite as there is a lot of food!
Self-service starter with lots of choices. Followed by the main event of a lamb spit-roast with side dishes. Then there are the desserts ...
Fantastic singer to entertain and make the day go with a swing!

Thank Ashsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us at our restaurant.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your Sunday afternoon with us for our Sunday Lunch Buffet.

We look forward in welcoming you back to our estate soon and wish you all the best.

Have a lovely day further.

Warm Regards,

The Backsberg Familly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018

We enjoyed our relaxing lunch at Backsberg. The staff was friendly & the atmosphere very casual. If you have a meal in the restaurant you are entitled to a free wine tasing, which is nice little plus. Will definitely visit again. Wine was nice too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JennyBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us at the restaurant and that your expectations were met. It is always lovely to hear back from guests from their past experiences with us.

Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward in seeing you soon again.

Have a lovely week further.

Best Wishes,

The Backsberg Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Have been to the Sunday lamb roast at Backsberg for many years and thought this year it was better than ever.
Arrived early so had very good coffee sitting in wicker chairs in the shade. Then had the delicious starters,, apple salad particularly good. Next the lamb cooked on the spit with a choice of their superb roast potatoes, platters of roast mixed vegetables, cauliflower cheese, gravy etc.
Desserts were good but not as exceptional as the other courses. Sat in a shaded courtyard and service was attentive. We all came away thinking 'what a lovely, relaxing experience '.

Thank Jennyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us at the restaurant and that your expectations were met. It is always lovely to hear back from guests from their past experiences with us.

Thank you once again for visiting us and for supporting us for the past 17 years. We look forward in seeing you soon again.

Have a lovely week further.

Best Wishes,

The Backsberg Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Visited backsberg again as we thoroughly enjoyed our visits last year and were very impressed. This visit we sat down for our favourite cheese platter and what has happened,2 small cheeses only and no fruit!! Last year we had 5 cheeses and fresh fruit and there was more than ample food, please return to what you did well. The wine,staff and ambience of the place is good so don't spoil it

Thank Astrabod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here with us.

Our Cheese Platter changed slightly as we offer 4 cheeses now and not 5 cheeses.

We have noted your concerns and will raise these concerns with the relevant parties involved.

Have a lovely day and once again thank you for your feedback received.

Best Wishes,

The Backsberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We had a wonderful wine tasting experience which was relaxed and informative - and the wines divine. Finished with a 10 year old brandy - which delighted many of the men in our club. Lunch was wonderful, however, the fish and chip portion could have been a little bit more food on the plate. Great day out at Backsberg

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irenemaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Backsberg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here with us.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch with us at our Restaurant as well as the wine tasting offered.

We are all about relaxation and enjoyment and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility here with us.

Have a lovely day and once again thank you for your wonderful feedback.

Best Wishes,

The Backsberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backsberg Restaurant also viewed

 
Suider Paarl, Paarl
 

Been to Backsberg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing