We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Gem in Paarl”
Review of The Red Table

The Red Table
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Nederburg presents the restaurant, The Red Table, situated in its iconic manor house, a national monument. It has been passionately created in collaboration with well-known Cape Town foodie, Andrea Foulkes, and offers locally-sourced, fresh food in a comfortable and historic atmosphere. The accent is on tasty, simple but superb eating with flavours to match the award-winning range of Nederburg wines. Signature favourites include the duo of lamb, venison burger, fillet steak and pork belly. During the summer months, the restaurant spills out onto the terrace and sprawling gardens against the backdrop of vineyards and the towering Drakenstein mountains. In the fragrant and lush gardens surrounding the manor house, you'll find leisurely spots in the cool shade of the age-old trees you can enjoy fare created to complement Nederburg's delicious wines. With fireplaces ablaze during the winter months, the plush and comfortable interior of the manor house is the perfect setting for leisurely meals shared with family and friends when chilly outside.
Reviewed 1 October 2018

I decided to take my husband to lunch on his 60th birthday, and chose The Red Table, as It was well reviewed. We were not disappointed - the table appointments, friendly service and delicious food all contributed to a delightful mid-week break.
The menu caters for all tastes and it was very difficult to choose our meal, as everything looked tempting.
Eventually we chose to have mains and dessert - my husband opting for the Venison burger, and I choose the Pork belly. Both dishes were excellent. Our desserts were a trio of ice-cream for hubby, and Chocolate Fondant for me. Again, delicious. As it was a festive occasion, we enjoyed a bottle of their MCC to accompany our meal.
The setting in the manor house is grand, but the relaxed atmosphere and reasonable bill, was very pleasant.
We will be back !

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank camilla363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We have been here several times over the years always good. We heard that the chef had changed so we thought that was a good excuse to visit. The food is as always immaculate the fish and chips were declared as the best ever especially the batter and my steak was cooked to perfection add excellent service and reasonable prices you really can't go wrong highly recommended top marks to all concerned.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is in an old renovated house which gives the place a warm, cozy old time aroma. There is a fire place that warms up the place on a cold day, old furniture that makes it feel like you are dining in another era and the food is absolutely delicious!
Beware though, it is quite expensive... but that is what you expect from a fine dining restuarant.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank augie_oosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Having recently visited Nederburg for a wine tasting, we decided to return but this time to try The Red Table Restaurant for lunch.

It is situated in Nederburg's Cape Dutch Manor House (built in 1880).

The menu is bistro-styled and Its winter menu offers 6 starters and 11 mains. We chose for starters: Crumbed Chicken Livers with seared portobello mushrooms - they were firm and delicious, and the Soup of the Day which was a very tasty, well-seasoned Tomato Soup.

For mains we had Beef Fillet with artichoke gratin and a chunky mushroom sauce on the side. It was perfectly cooked and came with vegetables that were served the way I like them - al dente. Our other starter was Duck Breast with a carrot and potato puree, broccoli and an apricot and citrus jus. An uncomplicated and gorgeous dish. We enjoyed a glass of The Winemasters Shiraz with the beef and Winemasters Pinotage with the duck. Both paired well with the food.

Desert was a real surprise, both of our orders were superb: Gewurtztraminer Infused Crème Brulee and a Chocolate Fondant with Orange Ice Cream. Yummilicious!!

There is also a Kiddies Menu, a nice touch.

The food is unpretentious and beautifully presented.

The venue is elegant and very comfortable and has a lovely warming log fire. Its garden views add much appeal.

The service was relaxed, friendly and absolutely superb.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

From starters to desserts all servings surprised proudly in quality. The waiters was great and a visit by the chef well appreciated.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank RudiBosbouer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Table also viewed

Paarl, Western Cape
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to The Red Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing