We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must do, incredible experience”

Cheetah Experience Ashia
Ranked #15 of 50 things to do in Paarl
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cheetah Experience Ashia is a 35 hectares working agricultural farm applying environmental values and with a strong focus on supporting the conservation of endangered big and small cats, especially cheetahs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I cannot recommend Ashia enough, it is a must do for anyone visiting the Western Cape region.

It's hard to describe the amazing experience that is coming up close and personal with a Cheetah. The animals are extremely well cared for and they are so friendly, even to outsiders as long as you follow instructions. The tour we were given was super informative and there is a nice shop onsite to buy souvenirs, and the overall mission of the Cheetah sanctuary is absolutely worth supporting.

A must do, don't miss it!

Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashia_Team, Manager at Cheetah Experience Ashia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Phil

Thanks so much for the great review! It's amazing to see people supporting our mission, learning about cheetahs and getting to see what incredible animals they are.

Getting up close and personal with a cheetah is truly an eye opening experience!

Kind regards
The Ashia team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"incredible animals"
in 2 reviews
"an absolute"
in 2 reviews
"western cape"
in 2 reviews
"south africa"
in 2 reviews
"bloemfontein"
in 2 reviews
"noah"
in 3 reviews
"enclosures"
in 3 reviews
"kerry"
in 2 reviews
"purring"
in 2 reviews
"stroke"
in 3 reviews
"project"
in 2 reviews
"volunteers"
in 2 reviews
"visitors"
in 2 reviews
"shop"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

What a great experience we had. Thanks to our nice guide who took very good care of us we learned so much about the program to protect Cheetah’s and could watch some of these amazing animals in their beautiful surrounding.

Thank 2018Renate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashia_Team, Manager at Cheetah Experience Ashia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear 2018Renate

We're so glad you had a great time. It's very important to us that our visitors walk away having learned about these beautiful animals, and why its so important to protect them!

Kind regards
The Ashia team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

These facilities are brand new and some enclosures are still under construction. You can tell that everyone who works here is focused on the well-being of the animals in their care. Currently there are "only" cheetahs here, but once the construction is finished caracals and servals will also move here. The enclosures are nice and large, and the keepers told us about the various enrichments they try to provide for the cheetahs, including a run in the mornings to catch some toys or food. This can also be visited but was a bit too early for our lazy butts on vacation.

We did get to experience the cheetah encounter, which was incredible. This is only done with the cheetahs that have been born in captivity and are not candidates for being released into the wild. The animals seemed relaxed and at ease, they even purred when we approached them and while we were petting them. They could leave whenever they wanted, so they aren't forced into anything.

It was heartbreaking to hear about how little is currently being done to conserve this incredible beautiful animals in the wild.

Thank michelejeannine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashia_Team, Manager at Cheetah Experience Ashia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear michelejeannne5

Thank you for your lovely review! Cheetah Experience Ashia really is a project of passion - our staff and volunteers are truly dedicated to the cause. Although there is a whole lot more that could be done in terms of cheetah conservation, supporting organisations such as Ashia really does help.

Perhaps the next time you swing by, you'll be up early enough to catch some cheetah enrichment!

Kind regards
The Ashia team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Visiting the Paarl area we heard about this brand new Cheetah sanctuary which is now open but not yet fully launched. We enquired and arranged a visit to watch cheetahs run and then a 1-2-1 cheetah experience. These are incredible animals and to get so close was certainly a lifetime experience. It was really good to hear about the pre-wilding programme that is being undertaken to help broaden the gene pool and seek to strengthen the cheetah population in the wild.

1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal R, Manager at Cheetah Experience Ashia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear John A

Thank you for your lovely review! We are incredibly excited about our re-wilding programme, it truly is what we've always wanted for Ashia.

We'd be delighted to have you back!

Kind regards
Cheetah Experience Ashia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Being a lover cats, especially the Cheetah with their unique facial markings, and discovering Ashia by chance was the highlight of our day. Living in Cape Town and Paarl being so close was a bonus. As the first overnight guests in the newly built accommodation, we felt like royalty. The spacious self-catering apartment was beautifully and tastefully furnished with attention to detail and comfort. We were invited to meet 5 month old Noah and thoroughly enjoyed a long while stroking and playing ball with this cute animal. Meeting 12yr old Fiela was a huge treat with her loud purr and warm soulful eyes. The love and trust they showed their human carer was special. Later that day, we met the others and had the opportunity of taking Abby for a long walk. Our stay ended with a very tasty and well presented continental breakfast on the patio delivered to our apartment the following morning. Compliments to Kerry for her excellent service. May Ashia go from strength to strength and get the support it needs.

Thank Jianina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal R, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Experience Ashia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Jianina,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we are delighted to have been able to welcome you as our first overnight guests! We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed meeting our cheetahs and that you were able to share some of the passion we have for conserving this vulnerable species.

We will be sure to pass on your greetings to Kerry and the rest of the team, and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,
The Ashia team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheetah Experience Ashia also viewed

 

Been to Cheetah Experience Ashia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing