We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marinara pizza to die for!”
Review of Pearl Rock Terrace

Pearl Rock Terrace
Ranked #22 of 112 Restaurants in Paarl
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Description: Pearl Rock Terrace is located on the picturesque Laborie Wine Estate. This casual dining experience offers wood-fired pizzas, small plates, salads and some gorgeous views. Perfect for a lazy afternoon with great company.
Restaurant details
Description: Pearl Rock Terrace is located on the picturesque Laborie Wine Estate. This casual dining experience offers wood-fired pizzas, small plates, salads and some gorgeous views. Perfect for a lazy afternoon with great company.
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We've have been back 4 times for the marinara pizza and a glass of Sauv blanc and my hubby a craft beer... Or 2! Not shy with the prawns at all! Keep it up and we'll keep coming back. Never disappointed!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Deonie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2018

The weather wasn't idea to enjoy the Pearl Rock Terrace, but the inside was calm and welcoming, with an unusual mediterranean vibe generated by the Greek music being played. Although grilled halloumi was on the menu, the rest was more standard bistro fare, with various burgers, salads and pizzas. Our waiter was sweetly attentive but lacked training. The focaccia ordered as a starter was more like a pizza base, but crispy and delicious nonetheless. Sprinkled with toppings from bowls of chopped garlic, parmesan and chilli it could have served as lunch on its own. Mike's salad (gorgonzola, strawberries, pearl onions, walnuts, avocado and crispy greens) was excellent. A Cajun chicken burger with potato wedges was also judged very good. We'll be back when the weather is more conducive to alfresco dining.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DGEKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

The best pizza I have tasted in my opinion & of course the best pizza you can find in Paarl!
Besides the delicious tasty pizza, the setting is just so beautiful and picturesque.
The view is so stunning across the vineyards and can easily make you forget that you are actually in the town of Paarl.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Island_Girl_84700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Blown away by the beautiful views overlooking the Laborie vineyards, child and dog friendly with incredible outdoor spaces.

We really loved the Greek feel and wish they would embrace it more, but perhaps it’s not what their clientele prefer. By the looks of the social media they are becoming more of a local sundowner / live entertainment evening place but today it was very relaxed, soft background greek music with lots of families.

The staff are all very sweet and went out their way to see to us, the owner / manager did do his rounds once or twice, however we constantly had different waiters and numerous times had to repeat our orders or requests, so it seems staff training is unfortunately lacking.

Then for the for the food:

The pizzas and salads are good.
The Parma ham and melon salad is substantial but average.
Then for the greek dishes:
We ordered the Haloumi, which was out of stock which I understand but no one was aware of this.
The beef souvlaki - the ciabatta was so old and dry, not sure if it was perhaps frozen and as a whole I definitely wouldn’t recommend this dish.

We will most certainly return for the ambience and location, however in future would only order pizzas and salads which seemed to be the most popular at all the tables.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Jadeefmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

This place has got the most beautiful terrace with beautiful views of the vineyard. Food was good and service was excellent. We had a business function and a special menu was made up for us consisting just of pizza's and burgers and of course, dessert. I can most definitely recommend Pearl Rock Terrace.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MJPAARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pearl Rock Terrace also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Rock Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing