We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious organic food, excellent service”
Review of Faber

Faber
Ranked #12 of 111 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Description: FABER at Avondale; Culinary Craftsmanship. FABER is a contemporary farm-to-fork restaurant, approaching each ingredient with the utmost respect. FABER food is hand-crafted using the finest fresh and organic ingredients; creating wholesome, innovative dishes that take gusts on a memorable journey. #FABERfood - as Mother Nature Intended
Restaurant details
Description: FABER at Avondale; Culinary Craftsmanship. FABER is a contemporary farm-to-fork restaurant, approaching each ingredient with the utmost respect. FABER food is hand-crafted using the finest fresh and organic ingredients; creating wholesome, innovative dishes that take gusts on a memorable journey. #FABERfood - as Mother Nature Intended
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch on a sunny October afternoon and had a fabulous time. The staff were warm, attentive, and charming. The food was outstanding, fresh, and organic. A variety of small touches showed they take great pride in their work. I'd recommend the pumpkin beignets!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank rowenashadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018

Avondale is well known for its innovative approach to wine-making and their restaurant Faber is the perfect venue to enjoy them with a delicious meal. From the bread service to the dessert we were blown away by the freshness of the ingredients, attention to detail and warm service. It is a lovely spot for lunch in the winelands and definitely worth the drive. We hope to return soon!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MelissaCapeTown2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We had an awesome evening. Beautiful setting, special attention to detail, but not overwhelming. The portions were generous and SOOO tasty. The bread starter something different than what you normally get and the steak tartar the best I have ever tasted. Definitely the highlight of the evening for me. If you want a special experience, this is the place to go.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Annalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Jenny loves risotto! She absolutely was blown by risotto at Faber, my line fish was unfailing, the wines at Avondale are amazing! No faulting here! Great evening!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank waltercomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

I have visited Faber on three occassions over the course of this year. The balance is just perfect. The service is not too formal yet impeccable. The ambience is comfortable, stylish yet not stiff. And the food - the food is ALWAYS perfect. I always enjoy the three course option paired with wine and I am always inspired after leaving there. Exquisite! I have just decided to book a table for my entire family because this gem is just too good not to share.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank LiseL876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Faber also viewed

Paarl, Western Cape
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Faber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing