We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Oudtshoorn!”

The Black Swan Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Price range: R 55 - R 200
Cuisines: African, Italian, Steakhouse, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Oudtshoorn, this a la carte hotspot is a popular restaurant with locals and visitors alike, and is abuzz with activity throughout the year. During the KKNK Art Festival in March, The Black Swan is ground zero for South Africa`s biggest celebrities who hang out and perform live for the crowds. We`re well known for our delicious Ostrich Fan Fillet steak, but our menu covers a range of flavours, including cold Oak Smoked Salmon, an Asian style pork belly, pork loin rib for main and a decadent creme brulee for dessert. Add in our generous portion sizes and relaxed atmosphere, and every guest feels at home at The Black Swan. To drink, our fully-stocked Tavern covers a range of local varieties, as well as beers, spirits and cocktails. Our staff are attentive and friendly and on hand to deliver you a fantastic dining experience. Guests can eat inside or outside, but no matter where you`re seated, a fun-filled evening is guaranteed. Klein Karoo hospitality at its best!
Reviewed 8 January 2020

This was a our second visit in 4 years to the Black Swan. The first time was in Dec 2015 and the 2nd was in Jan 2020. I have to say that the quality of the food is just as good as it was 4 years ago. The best ostrich steak ever! And to top it all, this time round we had amazing service from our waitress Shamica. She is such a gem and was so attentive to our table of 13. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank Redica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Atrocious experience on 26th December. We have been travelling around the western cape and the food in Capetown, Camps Bay, Stellenbosch and Plettenberg has been consistently excellent but the service, food and wine in the Black Swan was dreadful. The wine was undrinkable. We waited an hour for our starter of tasteless squid, undercooked 'deep fried' camembert and salad, which were all incredibly bland. We ordered 4 Ostrich steaks which came out 2 hours after we entered the restaurant. They tasted prepackaged and artificial. We had ostrich steaks in Plettenberg today which were incredible. There was no comparison between these and the ones in the black swan, which tasted so processed and mediocre. Any sides we ordered didn't come and they were served with mash that tasted equally horrible. The bill was quite high, 1,800rand for sub par food, diabolical wine and terrible service. I would advise anyone to do their research, and find a decent restaurant in Oudtshoorn.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank JZ1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2019

Was in the area during travels and was absolutely amazing food , some of the best I've ever had
Had the ostrich steak with a pepper sauce as per waitress recommendation 100% perfect

Date of visit: December 2019
6  Thank Meander91472
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2019

Was recently in Oudtshoorn visiting family with my friends. We had a lovely evening with great food and excellent service. Fillet steak was really good. Will highly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank lrahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

Whilst visiting the pretty town of Oudtshoorn, we came across this restaurant, which seemed the perfect place to have our lunch.
As others have mentioned, to call this a wine bar with only one choice of red and white wine by the glass is very poor. However, I have to say that the Rooiberg Sauvignon Blanc was one of the best wines I have tasted in a long time.
We then checked out the menu, and was appalled at the prices. Extortionate. We had to admit to the waitress that it was far too expensive for us and had to leave.

Date of visit: December 2019
3  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Black Swan Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to The Black Swan Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.