We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wilgewandel Holiday Farm(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Turnberry Boutique Hotel(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miles B&B Guest House(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
348
123
33
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
123
33
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsostrich steakfarm tourostrich farmguest houseattention to detailone nightantique furniturebeautiful dining roomcolonial stylecomplimentary portwelcome drinkroll top baththe main housegarden routea fantastic place to staylong driveseparate shower
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Beautiful place, as if I went back in time 100 years. Service is great and food (dinner and breakfast) is lovely. We ate ostrich there! Unfortunately we only stayed one night would have loved to enjoy the great atmosphere a bit longer

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Guusjevdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, Manager at La Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2015

Dear Gufje

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it is much appreciated!

Next time: at least a 2 night stay!!

Kindest regards
Corlu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights in a huge room in the beautiful gardens with a lovely pool and plantings. Felt very welcome from our arrival to our departure. Car washed every day.
Very nice restaurant with a good menu and nice food. Good friendly service.
Plenty of choice at breakfast from a buffet, they even took the trouble to prepare a Pomegranate for my wife, certainly better than getting in a mess doing it yourself.
Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nigelwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Dear nigelwelch

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it is much appreciated!

And i do remember the two friendly faces at the table in the far left hand corner - we would love to see you again one day! Make sure you come when the pomegranates are in season...

Kindest regards
Corlu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

La Plume is a fantastic place to stay. We arrived just after dark after a long drive from Somerset West (and the latter part of the drive was stunning as the sun set behind us).

The welcome we received was very friendly - greeting us in the car park and carrying our bags to our room before politely ushering us to the dining room for our dinner.

The dinner was delicious - and the staff made a real fuss of our children (9&7) ... talking them through the menu and ensuring they got just what they wanted. We all enjoyed Ostrich - cooked to perfection - as well as some lovely homemade desserts.

We had a huge family room just off the terrace at the front of the property, with a big en suite bathroom. The bed was comfortable and, after a good night's rest, we were up early to enjoy a fascinating farm tour given by the owner.

We learned a great deal about the farm, it's history, ostriches, the ostrich trade and the family's diversification into tourism ... as well as their plans for the next generation.

We left feeling another night at La Plume would have suited us, but our itinerary meant we had to move on.

As a tip for anyone arriving at La Plume, many directions bring you from the west, into Oudtshoorn and then out again. Keep an eye as it is clearly signposted from the main road - so no need for the two sides of a triangle journey.

La Plume was a very comfortable and interesting stay. We didn't have time to enjoy their pool (which looked very tempting) and we'd certainly recommend it to anyone in that neck of the woods.

Stayed: April 2015
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

Dear Simon B

A big thank you for this very nice review - we appreciate all feedback, but sometimes we appreciate the reviews a little bit more... You know what I mean, THANK YOU!!

I actually remember you all pretty well - I love children and the well behaved ones are always my favorites!

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here on the farm as well as the farm tour with Bartel. He is so passionate about his work and he just loves sharing it with guests, so the feedback really means a lot to him, thank you.

It is always a pity that you only know which places you would have loved to spend another night once the holiday is over, so perhaps you should change your second night into a second visit??? We are looking forward to your next visit!

Kindest regards
Corlu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Great, friendly service, fantastic Little Karoo views, beautiful rooms, delicious food - I would go back anytime and recommend 100 %. From the personal welcome when I stepped out my car, to the freshly washed car when I departed - I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrsMaverick71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

Dearest MrsMaverick71

Thank you so much for the review and the kind words - it is much appreciated indeed!

Thank you for the recommendation and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Kindest regards
Corlu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Exceptional hospitality from then moment we arrived! The rooms were so spacious. Such attention to detail! It was luxurious. The restaurant was fantastic....I can recommend the ostrich, it was superbly cooked. The staff were so fri madly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, they went above and beyond... Sit outside at night and look at the stars....I have never seen a night sky like it!

Room Tip: We had the superior room with lounge area and huge bathroom with seperate shower, toilet and a beautiful slipper bath. This was in a seperate room to the rest of the guest house...very private and peaceful.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlu N, General Manager at La Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Dear Philip E

It is reviews like yours that make us do what we love doing!! Thank you - it is much appreciated!!

I trust that you left with loads of happy memories of your time in South Africa!

Kindest regards
Corlu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews