We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
pennylemesurier
Cape Town, South Africa

Gracious Queen's Hotel Oudtshoorn!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Apr 2024
One cannot miss the Queen's Hotel when driving through Oudtshoorn.
It is very close to several ostrich "Feather Palaces" and the interesting architecture fits in well.
The greeting and helpfulness of the staff at Reception makes one feel at home straightaway - nothing is too much trouble!
My friend and I had two rooms on the second floor overlooking the pool area...light and airy, super comfortable beds and excellent updated bathrooms - we had a bar fridge each which is a great bonus on a hot day.
I am not sure that all rooms have a fridge though.
Cafe Brule is on the main hotel veranda and whilst we were at the hotel we met a renowned chef who was there temporarily updating the menu with the most delicious looking cakes and teatime and lunch treats plus new additions, This should make it even more popular with the local Oudtshoorn residents.
He was also going to spend time in the well decorated Colony Restaurant upstairs and tweak a few things on the dinner menu.
So things are on the move for the already good Queen's Hotel with Bon Hotels.
They operate throughout Southern Africa.
One cannot really wrong staying at the Queen's Hotel - we will be returning next year!
Penny and Jackie
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hanri Odendaal, General Manager at Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Wow! Thank you Penny and Jackie, looking forward welcoming you back at Queens Hotel.

Kind regards
Hanri Odendaal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 705
R 3 842
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 842
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 829
  • Trip.com
    R 4 705
1.8 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 300
  • eDreams
    R 1 300
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 001
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 107
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 577
  • Priceline
    R 3 105
8.1 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free parking
Pool
R 1 040
  • Priceline
    R 1 040
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 040
  • Vio.com
    R 1 040
1.3 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free parking
Pool
R 1 690
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 440
  • Priceline
    R 1 690
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 428
4.3 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 380
R 1 904
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 963
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 960
  • Priceline
    R 1 904
12.9 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 991
  • Hotels.com
    R 990
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
1.7 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 159
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 160
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 159
  • Priceline
    R 1 158
1.9 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free Wifi
Pool
R 913
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 801
  • Vio.com
    R 838
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 800
15.3 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 501
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oudtshoorn
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
178
218
121
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
218
121
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queens hotel colony restaurant rooms are small breakfast room charming hotel central location reception area family room pleasant stay klein karoo farms route
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2024

This is not what you'd expect from a BON hotel and important to be very casual with your expectations. The building is gorgeous but is not being given the respect it deserves. The offering is tired and desperately needs a boost - pool lounger cushions are in a terrible state, pool area never sees a staff member to clear things away, rooms need maintenance and a refurb. The breakfast was pleasant if pretty simple (but the croissants are incredible!). The presence of management was never felt but the staff are helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelling_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hanri Odendaal, General Manager at Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day travelling_melb

Your feedback is much appreciated, looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Hanri Odendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

We love the hotel ….its got wonderful character and charm. The staff are efficient, friendly helpful and knowledgeable. The little pool area is very nice but it needs cleaning and brushing on a regular basis. The covers on the sun loungers should be put out daily . The food in the restaurant is excellent and served nicely with smiles. Our room at the back was quiet and had all we needed.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hanri Odendaal, General Manager at Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the great feedback! Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Hanri Odendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2024

This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in South Africa. The room was on the tsecond floor, was small, outdated and dirty. The room was facing the road and was noisy and had no double glazing . The bathroom was shocking and small. The shower drain was backed up and water and muck flowed out of the shower onto the floor. There was no fridge at all. The bed sheet was ripped and detritus was left by previous guests.
The wi-fi was terrible and continually dropped out. The receptionist was awful, her attitude and demeanour was the worst. After countless visits and trips to reception. I just gave up trying to use the free WiFi.
The food was actually fine and the restaurant staff were too.
None of the doors in the room shut properly and the room skirtings and corners were very grimy.
I noticed some senior staff strutting around using mobile phones and drinking coffee but looking very disengaged.
Overall, a most disappointing experience, was very glad to check out and would definitely not return. So BEWARE.
All of this was told to the duty manager before we left and of course she was “mortified”.
Having looked at other reviews out is not one of a kind.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hanri Odendaal, General Manager at Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Good evening Denise,

Thank you for your most valuable feedback.
It is surely a matter of concern for us to know that your stay did not match up to the quality that we strive to offer to our guests at all times. I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. But we assure you that the necessary corrective action have been taken in this regard. While we do regret the inconvenience caused to you and express our sincere apologies for the same, we assure you that we’ll look into it and do the needful. We hope to be able to match up to your expectations in the future!

Kind regards
Hanri Odendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2024 via mobile

This hotel is steeped in history, and the communal areas were tastefully decorated and furnished. We enjoyed spending time after dinner in the first floor lounge - it was really relaxing.
Our room (214) was fine with plenty of plug sockets and good reading lights by the bed. The bathroom, however, although nicely appointed with a walk-in rain shower, was small and had the most unusually placed toilet squashed into one tiny recess. My husband said his knees touched the wall when he sat on it!!!
The dining room was attractive, but the hot food included in the breakfast buffet was disappointing, both in the quality of what was on offer and the range.
To summarise, I'd say it was a lovely old hotel but some elements of catering require improvement.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nina_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hanri Odendaal, General Manager at Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Good morning Nina
Thank you for your most valuable feedback.
We appreciate your feedback as it is extremely important to us and will use this information for training and developing purposes
Hope to welcome you back at Queens Hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2024

We booked in for the night, it was a last minute decision to stay and stop over for the evening.
Room was spacious and clean, breakfast was good with a variety of eats. Staff was the most kindest I've experienced in all my bookings. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 94stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hanri Odendaal, General Manager at Queen's Hotel by BON Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Good morning Stephanie
Thank you for your most valuable feedback!
Hope to welcome you back at Queens Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews