We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$95
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
PricelineUS$234
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
158
205
116
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
158
205
116
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colony restaurant colonial hotel old world charm lovely hotel reception staff central location comfortable stay comfortable rooms stayed one night cango caves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2021

It was a very pleasant stay, the venue is very warm and inviting.
However charging R40 for a beer at the bar is exorbitant even for a tourist paying in foreign currency, but to local South Africans it's outrageous. It made the whole experience unpleasant after that.
The restaurant food was bland and not 4* level standard

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 466admin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021

We had high expectations, based on reviews and photographs, but this experience conjured thoughts of Faulty Towers. Our check in was odd, to say the least. When asked what time the rugby was (British Lions vs Sprigboks), the gent replied "No idea, I haven't got a TV".

We had had to pre-order our dinner - no problem with that, but bar was closed, so the gent on duty had to disappear for 5 minutes to get a list of wine available, which was very limited. We were asked what time we wanted to eat, as apparently only 1 table could be served at a time, so we were allotted a 6.30 slot.

Our room was OK, however, it had not been vacuumed after the previous guests had left, as there was rubbish lying on the floor and a row of plugs conveniently placed for charging cellphones etc, were all broken. The coffee making machine was also broken. The DSTV bouquet is limited and we were unable to watch the rugby, and was advised that only the TV in the bar could show rugby, but that was closed, even though our relaxed Level 3 allows on-site consumption until 9pm, we were told "I am sorry, but you can't go there to watch".

The shower was great, but leaked, so most of the towels had to be put on the floor to mop up water. Bathroom was modern and nicely decorated.

Dinner was tasty, but we had an entire restaurant to ourselves and most of the lights were switched off, so it lacked atmosphere and warmth. Our "receptionist" was also our waiter, night porter, pool cleaner, etc, etc and admitted that it was only him and the chef on duty.

This is definitely not 4 star service or standards and having spent the previous night at the 3 star Lord Milner Hotel in Matjiesfontein, which far exceeded our expectations in every way, we couldn't wait to leave the Queens Hotel and will not consider returning.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank AnitaW2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2021

The Queens Hotel is a very classy Hotel, very neat with excellent service. I love the spur oposite the hotel as well as other shops nearby. Me and my husband will definitely stay there again and we will recommend all our friends to do s too.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank junita2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie Killian, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Thank you for staying with us, hope to see again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021

Great service from Mario when checking in offered to serve us food in our rooms and it was very good, great newly refurbished bathroom with all required toiletries, clean room and good bed hotel is in town so cant rate location as such We planned to visit caves that due to restrictions wasn't possible but we will definitely return when able to visit the caves

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shane_stevens54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2021

Thank you for a wonderful, comfortable stay for our young family. It was clean and well presented woth delicious breakfast and friendly staff. We look forward to another visit to enjoy the facilities properly once everything is all open again.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hmay651657
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie Killian, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are very proud of our old lady and do our utmost to keep it up and alive amidst the current challenging times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews