We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Extemely pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Extemely pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopping over in Oudtshoorn on our roadtrip we were very, very hot, tired, and hadn't had a decent cup of coffee all day. Driving down the main drag we noticed a coffee shop, Cafe Brule, which was open and where we ordered coffee and cake, both superb.

So good, in fact, that when we realised the cafe was part of the Queen's Hotel – and discovered the hotel had a pool – we immediately enquired about a room for the night. Luckily one was available, the reception staff super cheerful and efficient informed us.

The room was smallish but exactly what we were looking for (i.e. TV, air-con and comfortable single beds). Dinner at the Colony Restaurant at the hotel was fantastic. Whether or not the staff had been recently trained I'm not aware of, but the service was outstanding, attentive and helpful without being intrusive, and the food was first class: we shared an ostrich carpaccio (with capers - fabulous!) and both had the lamb shank, which was a very generous portion and mouthwateringly tasty.

Breakfast was included and again was very generous, tasty, and the staff were great.

A happy find for us, and we'll definitely be back when we pass through next time. Thank you Queen's Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Eliot,

Thank you for your good review. I am glad that we could be of your assistance and taht you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    120
    77
    15
    6
See reviews for
60
139
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is always a great stay. Usually we stay there for the KKNK festival because of its location.
It has a lovely colonial feeling, a bit dated in some of the rooms but it adds to the charm. Extremely friendly staff , delicious breakfasts , very nice tea room.

Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rudovh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Rudo,

Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016

Looked lovely in photos but very disappointing in reality. No bar on ground floor - only on 2nd floor but no outside seating. Rooms very disappointing - newly installed bathrooms but very small and no where to put anything. Shelf in shower so high I was unable to reach anything. Breakfast room chaotic with long queues waiting to be served. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms very small, no fridge and very tiny bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016

On our way to Cape Town we stopped off to go to the ostricht farm and stayed over night at the Queens Hotel.It was like going back into the past (King George stayed here with his wife Queen Elizabeth and daughters Princesses Elizabeth and Margaret in the 1940's). A very nice place although the bedroom and bathroom were small. The staff were very nice and the food in the restaurant was good although service was very slow. We were rather annoyed by a very rude Englishman who took a very aggressive way of expressing himself at the delay. What an odious little man, I do hope that the staff realised that he was the exception rather than the norm to the way Brits behave! All in all a very nice (and different) stay.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshiretourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for the review. We are used to certain individuals that are always complaining and are always right. Don't worry about your English reputation. We know he is the exception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016

Hotel is in a good location. Rooms were clean and comfortable, really great shower. Staff were really friendly and welcoming. Nice pool area and courtyard where you can have drinks or breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2016
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.8 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.8 km away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
1.0 km away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price range (per night): R954 - R1 732
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing