We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swartberg Country Manor
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karoo Sun Guesthouse(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilgewandel Holiday Farm(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miles B&B Guest House(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$170
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
154
55
13
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
55
13
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspatatswartberg mountainsswartberg passcango cavesmanagement teamrelaxing breakperfect roomstunning mountain viewsmountain bikesclean swimming poolsmall hotellovely restaurantwine listfarm stayduty managerfantastic locationoff the beaten track
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Everything about Swartberg Country Manor is exceptional. The location, food, service but most of all, the people. We only stayed two nights but when it was time to say our fairwells, everyone, include us, were sad to go. The restaurant, Patat serves the most incredible food, no need to go into town for dinner. Thank you......we will definately be back! Rene & Andre

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank renef422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Truly magic the stay in this property. The location first as the manor is nested at the footstep of the swartberg pass. The scenery is just breathtaking. The road heading to the manor is also worth the ride. Yes it is a bit far away from many things BUT aren't good thing and priceless pieces just around the corner? Yes it's worth making it special that make the experience a unique one.

For some of you who did not know that the manor also had a restaurant, there is a great one called Patat.
Attention to details, again the view of the restaurant, facing the mountain. The food was superb with diverse options. The staff was simply fantastic. The wine list - as far as I recall - was exactly what I wanted... great Sauvignon from SA to start then a Pinotage but they also serve Shiraz and other grapes.

The next morning - early riser normally when I travel to the western part of the world - breakfast was simple yet, serving freshly made products. Even though I was up at 6.45 am at the breakfast area, they helped me with all the things I wanted.

Places like the Swartberg manor should be on the top list of places to visit for its location, participation in developing the tourism in this part of Karoo region.

Many thanks to the team and Leonie and her husband for the hospitality and the path they indicated to reach Capetown - avoiding the nationals highways.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank StephanHHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Service - EXCELLENT!!!! From the welcoming, check in , restaurant and check out.
Room - luxery and cosy.
The location 5star+, really something for your soul.
The whole place and staff makes it a unforgeteble experience.
Money well spend.
I"ll be back forsure.

Room Tip: Honey moon suite
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank liquorcityodn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

I would definitely recommend staying here the management team goes out of there way to assist you with everything, the rooms are excellent well layed out and spacious, nice swimming pool areas to just relax and cool down after a long day.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in November. The room we were in was nice, small but clean and had everything we wanted. We did have problems with the people in the room next to us as they argued very loudly but not the hotels fault. We were however disappointed with the restaurant. First night they got my order wrong and food was cold. Second night bbq and food also cold. Breakfast no better, it was cold, nothing keeping hot food warm at buffet which we had everywhere else we stayed. I ended up with an upset stomach from the food affecting the few days after we stayed here.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews