We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home from Home......Service with a Smile!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swartberg Country Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swartberg Country Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Oudtshoorn
1 review
“Home from Home......Service with a Smile!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything about Swartberg Country Manor is exceptional. The location, food, service but most of all, the people. We only stayed two nights but when it was time to say our fairwells, everyone, include us, were sad to go. The restaurant, Patat serves the most incredible food, no need to go into town for dinner. Thank you......we will definately be back! Rene & Andre

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank renef422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    34
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
86
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Truly magic the stay in this property. The location first as the manor is nested at the footstep of the swartberg pass. The scenery is just breathtaking. The road heading to the manor is also worth the ride. Yes it is a bit far away from many things BUT aren't good thing and priceless pieces just around the corner? Yes it's worth making it special that make the experience a unique one.

For some of you who did not know that the manor also had a restaurant, there is a great one called Patat.
Attention to details, again the view of the restaurant, facing the mountain. The food was superb with diverse options. The staff was simply fantastic. The wine list - as far as I recall - was exactly what I wanted... great Sauvignon from SA to start then a Pinotage but they also serve Shiraz and other grapes.

The next morning - early riser normally when I travel to the western part of the world - breakfast was simple yet, serving freshly made products. Even though I was up at 6.45 am at the breakfast area, they helped me with all the things I wanted.

Places like the Swartberg manor should be on the top list of places to visit for its location, participation in developing the tourism in this part of Karoo region.

Many thanks to the team and Leonie and her husband for the hospitality and the path they indicated to reach Capetown - avoiding the nationals highways.

Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank StephanHHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service - EXCELLENT!!!! From the welcoming, check in , restaurant and check out.
Room - luxery and cosy.
The location 5star+, really something for your soul.
The whole place and staff makes it a unforgeteble experience.
Money well spend.
I"ll be back forsure.

Room Tip: Honey moon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liquorcityodn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would definitely recommend staying here the management team goes out of there way to assist you with everything, the rooms are excellent well layed out and spacious, nice swimming pool areas to just relax and cool down after a long day.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in November. The room we were in was nice, small but clean and had everything we wanted. We did have problems with the people in the room next to us as they argued very loudly but not the hotels fault. We were however disappointed with the restaurant. First night they got my order wrong and food was cold. Second night bbq and food also cold. Breakfast no better, it was cold, nothing keeping hot food warm at buffet which we had everywhere else we stayed. I ended up with an upset stomach from the food affecting the few days after we stayed here.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
24.5 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
25.6 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
24.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#4 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
25.2 km away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
28.4 km away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swartberg Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swartberg Country Manor

Property: Swartberg Country Manor
Address: Farm Voorbedacht Matjiesrivier | Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price range (per night): R1 190 - R1 894
Hotel Class:4 star — Swartberg Country Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swartberg Country Manor is nestled on the farm "Voorbedacht" situated in the Cango Valley at the foot of the world-renowned Swartberg Pass. The picturesque panoramic view of the Swartberg Mountains will bring comfort to anyone that wants to "get away from it all" and simply soak up the peace of its tranquil surroundings.The farm was purchased in 2003 and welcomed its first guests in February 2005. The extraordinary views of the Swartberg Mountain from the veranda of the original farmhouse compelled us to create a venue where more people could share in the tranquillity and serenity of this beautiful valley."Voorbedacht" farm is a working farm, which offers our guests the unique opportunity to explore and experience the true essence of subsistence farming in the Little Karoo. Among the various agricultural products farmed, we also farm livestock such as, cattle, sheep and ostriches. Daily walks on the farm allow guests to experience the peace and serenity of this beautiful valley, while for the more "wild at heart"; mountain bikes are available to explore the more rugged terrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Swartberg Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swartberg Country Manor Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing