We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
US$56
View deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$73
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
143
20
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
143
20
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ostrich egg sparkling clean one night recommend this guest house great stay the owner warm welcome comfortable stay road trip place to stay garden route hosts facilities oudsthoorn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed our 3 night stay
Excellent service received by the owners and staff
They really go above and beyond to ensure a memorable and comfortable stay
Highly recommend Karoo Sun and will definitely stay if we’re back in Oudsthoorn

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ksplfc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2020

Extremely pleasant, helpful and friendly owners. The best breakfast we've had during our 2-week trip. Highly recommended. Cosy bedroom, large bathroom, quiet, sunny garden and comfy living-room. Good value for money and once again very dedicated couple.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Had a first class stay here. The hosts are great and very hospitable. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was first class and we even had an ostrich egg. Beautiful garden with a pool. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie152
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarooSun, Owner at Karoo Sun Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Thank you for being great guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

What a wonderful experience staying at KarooSun... Hermien is an amazing host and went out of her way to make us feel at home.
The only thing I'd like to see improve is the size of the beds... but that's because I'm used to a king size bed... and has nothing to do with the comfort of the double beds in the rooms we had.
Our daughters (8 and 10 years old) loved it and have made us promise never to stay anywhere else when in Oudtshoorn!
The pool was sparkling clean and it was a pleasure to be able to use it at anytime of the day or night which helped considering the temperature soared to over 40°C on both days we stayed.
Breakfast was amazing and even included scrambled ostrich egg, which was another highlight for the girls (when in Oudtshoorn).
We will be back as we are often in Oudtshoorn for sporting events and we will introduce Karoo Sun to all our friends... because hospitality like this should be experienced by all... Thank you Hermien!
You and your team are amazing!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank yesitsgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarooSun, Owner at Karoo Sun Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Wow ;-) thank you for your great review! You have stayed in our 2 x standard double rooms, since this was the only rooms still available. Our other 6 rooms are all king size - some with balconies... so next time you should book in advance :-) :-) :-) And remember to book directly with us for the best rates ;-) Greetings to the girls!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020

Sparkling clean, well maintained, great service and friendly staff. The owner was very helpful. Thank you for your hospitality. I can most definitely recommend this guest house. They will most definitely see us again.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CorrieB185
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews