We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
28
9
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
9
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm store malva pudding preserves en route great stop road trip bobotie self catering next morning klein karoo cape town roosterkoek boma estelle chickens oasis veranda
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We spent 2 nights in this authentic and quirky b&b. Beautiful location with brilliant food and service. Rooms located on nearby farm and furnished with amazing antiques. Roosterkoek highly recommended. Well worth a visit.

Room tip: Choose on the size of your family
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Owner at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Good day Grant,
Thank you for your kind review. It was a privilege having you at Bella de Karoo. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards,
Estelle Sinclair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We only needed a lunch break as we traveled towards Calitzdorp. This little farm store looked interesting so we stopped. Lovely friendly atmosphere - pleasant and interesting little shop with dining area behind - typical Karoo covered stoop area - chickens running around and coming to the table for tit-bits. Service good and tea served in large teapot with cosy! Food excellent and plentiful. A recommended stop-over

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Owner at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Good day Barrie,
Thank you for your excellent review of Bella de Karoo. It is truly a privilege to share our "unexpected oasis" with our clients.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another visit. Make sure this time you treat yourself by staying over in our lovely guesthouse. This way you can truly experience the beauty of Bella de Karoo.
Kind regards,
Estelle Sinclair.
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Half way between Oudshoorn and Calitzdorp stopped for a midmorning Roosterkoek snack. Delightfully fresh, turned out to be a real brunch. Staff very friendly. Well worth a return visit and an overnight stay

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank proteafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Front Office Manager at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Proteafarmer

Thank you very much for this review. We at Bella de Karoo always try our best just to give every person a "feeling at home" feeling. To be friendly and give proper service is our Proud. Our food speak for itself...We were recognized by SMULPAAP as a GOURMAND DESTINATION for our delicious food that we served at Bella de Karoo, and we are so proud.
Please come and visit again.

Kindest regards
Linda Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We stopped here for a brunch on route to Worcester. This quaint and beautiful location is situated on the road between Oudtshoorn & Calitzdorp. It is a farm setting with a lot of farm animals roaming freely on the lawns. Service was excellent and the food was so good you could actually taste the freshness of the eggs, which I'm sure were laid by the chickens just that morning or even just before we arrived... best farm bread and homemade sausage , pancakes filled with whatever you want 'roosterkoek' hot and freshly baked.Very reasonably priced and a nice relaxing atmosphere...dogs most welcome although should be kept on leash because of farm animals wandering around... Friendly and 'homeish' atmosphere a must for the weary traveller...Lots of nice goodies to buy in the shop!!

Room tip: Never spent the night but saw the rooms and they look luxurious!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Owner at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Good day,
Thank you for your email. I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Bella de Karoo. It was a privilege having you here and to share the beauty of Bella de Karoo with you. Please make sure to visit us again. I would also like to remind you that we have a beautiful guesthouse available. I would love to share our farmstay that is so unique to the Klein Karoo with you, your family and friends.
Kind regards,
Estelle Sinclair
Owner.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We stopped off for a quick break en-route to Cap Town and ended up not wanting to leave. Had delicious roosterkoek ( home baked 'breadrolls" ) and scones in the courtyard where turkey, ducks, chickens and the ( very well mannered) dog vied for our attention ( and crumbs ). A delightful roadtrip find.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank donnaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Owner at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Good day Donna,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Bella de Karoo. It is truly heart warming to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Please do visit our website belladekaroo.co.za to view our guesthouse.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Bella de Karoo.
Kindest regards,
Estelle Sinclair.
Bella de Karoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews