We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadside breakfast stop”
Review of Bella de Karoo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bella de Karoo
Ranked #30 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Half way between Oudshoorn and Calitzdorp stopped for a midmorning Roosterkoek snack. Delightfully fresh, turned out to be a real brunch. Staff very friendly. Well worth a return visit and an overnight stay

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank proteafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Front Office Manager at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Proteafarmer

Thank you very much for this review. We at Bella de Karoo always try our best just to give every person a "feeling at home" feeling. To be friendly and give proper service is our Proud. Our food speak for itself...We were recognized by SMULPAAP as a GOURMAND DESTINATION for our delicious food that we served at Bella de Karoo, and we are so proud.
Please come and visit again.

Kindest regards
Linda Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

We stopped here for a brunch on route to Worcester. This quaint and beautiful location is situated on the road between Oudtshoorn & Calitzdorp. It is a farm setting with a lot of farm animals roaming freely on the lawns. Service was excellent and the food was so good you could actually taste the freshness of the eggs, which I'm sure were laid by the chickens just that morning or even just before we arrived... best farm bread and homemade sausage , pancakes filled with whatever you want 'roosterkoek' hot and freshly baked.Very reasonably priced and a nice relaxing atmosphere...dogs most welcome although should be kept on leash because of farm animals wandering around... Friendly and 'homeish' atmosphere a must for the weary traveller...Lots of nice goodies to buy in the shop!!

Room Tip: Never spent the night but saw the rooms and they look luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGreekBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Owner at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Good day,
Thank you for your email. I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Bella de Karoo. It was a privilege having you here and to share the beauty of Bella de Karoo with you. Please make sure to visit us again. I would also like to remind you that we have a beautiful guesthouse available. I would love to share our farmstay that is so unique to the Klein Karoo with you, your family and friends.
Kind regards,
Estelle Sinclair
Owner.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We stopped off for a quick break en-route to Cap Town and ended up not wanting to leave. Had delicious roosterkoek ( home baked 'breadrolls" ) and scones in the courtyard where turkey, ducks, chickens and the ( very well mannered) dog vied for our attention ( and crumbs ). A delightful roadtrip find.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank donnaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Owner at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Good day Donna,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Bella de Karoo. It is truly heart warming to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Please do visit our website belladekaroo.co.za to view our guesthouse.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Bella de Karoo.
Kindest regards,
Estelle Sinclair.
Bella de Karoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

If you're travelling between Oudtshoorn and Calitzdorp, do yourself a favour and pop into this wonderful 'padstalletjie'.

Fantastic coffee, friendly staff, delicious food and a vast range of homemade gifts and Klein Karoo treats to buy and take home.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ShinyBriony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Front Office Manager at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear ShinyBriony
Thank you so much for this nice review, we appreciate. Please come and visit Bella de Karoo very soon.
Kind regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

The owners were lovely and off for the weekend and nobody else was staying so it was a really lovely experience just to sit and enjoy the beautiful quietness of the area. Really good idea about having breakfast in their own café just up the road - interesting gifts and tasty meals to be had either as a hot dish brought over to you or buy frozen and heat up in mircowave....one to be visited....

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Front Office Manager at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Good day
Thank you so much for this review, always nice to hear that our guest is happy with our accommodation. Please come and visit again.
Kindest regards
Linda Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1 km away
Best Little Guest House
Best Little Guest House
#29 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
104 reviews
1,8 km away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#15 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
152 reviews
2 km away
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
#13 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,6 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
513 reviews
33 km away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
57 reviews
16,1 km away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella de Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella de Karoo

Address: Route 62 | Between Oudtshoorn & Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: R890 - R1 355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella de Karoo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella de Karoo guesthouse is in the middle of the Klein Karoo between Oudtshoorn and Calitzdorp on the popular tourist route 62. The late 18th century barn is now a warm modern updated country bed and breakfast guesthouse. All rooms have their own private bathroom with either shower or bath or both. One family unit,(sleeps 5 ) Kids can ride their bicycle, feed the poultry. Make sure to pack your hiking shoes and mountain bikes, because there is a nature reserve and you can hike or bike up the hill to the lapa which over look the whole farm and if you are lucky you will meet eeh-ooh our donkey, a retired ostrich, some kuddus and small wildlife. We are pet friendly. Meals can be ordered from our farmstall or you can have a braai at the back stoep of the guesthouse. A cutlery cupboard, microwave and roaster is provided. Select a nice wine or port from our boutique wine cellar and enjoy a karoo sunset on the front porch from your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bella de Karoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing