We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick pitstop may just become a lingering lunch...”
Review of Bella de Karoo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella de Karoo
Ranked #28 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We stopped off for a quick break en-route to Cap Town and ended up not wanting to leave. Had delicious roosterkoek ( home baked 'breadrolls" ) and scones in the courtyard where turkey, ducks, chickens and the ( very well mannered) dog vied for our attention ( and crumbs ). A delightful roadtrip find.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank donnaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Owner at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Good day Donna,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Bella de Karoo. It is truly heart warming to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Please do visit our website belladekaroo.co.za to view our guesthouse.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Bella de Karoo.
Kindest regards,
Estelle Sinclair.
Bella de Karoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

If you're travelling between Oudtshoorn and Calitzdorp, do yourself a favour and pop into this wonderful 'padstalletjie'.

Fantastic coffee, friendly staff, delicious food and a vast range of homemade gifts and Klein Karoo treats to buy and take home.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ShinyBriony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Front Office Manager at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear ShinyBriony
Thank you so much for this nice review, we appreciate. Please come and visit Bella de Karoo very soon.
Kind regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

The owners were lovely and off for the weekend and nobody else was staying so it was a really lovely experience just to sit and enjoy the beautiful quietness of the area. Really good idea about having breakfast in their own café just up the road - interesting gifts and tasty meals to be had either as a hot dish brought over to you or buy frozen and heat up in mircowave....one to be visited....

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Front Office Manager at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Good day
Thank you so much for this review, always nice to hear that our guest is happy with our accommodation. Please come and visit again.
Kindest regards
Linda Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Lovely stop on Route 62. The veranda is cool on a hot Karoo day. The fresh roosterkoek with biltong and fig is recommended as well as the pancakes. Kids loved watching the chickens.Wines,preserves and crafts also on sale.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rene472015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Marketing at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Rene

Us at Bella, thank you for the kind words and are very delighted you enjoyed the food served.

We hope to see you again in the near future and hope you will stop over to experience our accommodation too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

I always stop here for breakfast when I'm visiting the area. Love the setup and variety of items on sale. Met the owners before and very friendly etc. Sadly this time I was disappointed :(

Staff friendly and helpful. Ordered roosterkoek, coffee and hot chocolate. After 20 min I stood up to ask where our drinks where. We sat inside as it was a little chilly outside, so we might have been forgotten? I notice only 1 couple outside so note sure why it took so long. After our breakfast was served, (35 min later) the waitress litterly disappeared. Never checking back to see if we needed anything (was looking for some sauce and wanted to ask about the freshness of the roosterkoek).

The roosterkoek was definitely not freshly made. I was a little confused after the 1st bite as we waited 35 min for it, so was under the impression they are being freshly made) I was not in the mood to stand up again as I was hungry and in a hurry so ate 70% of it. (As there was no time to order something else to eat anyways, seeing this order took around 35 min to get to us and it's not even freshly made). Fillings.....good! We realized that nobody was planning to check up on us again and decided to walked to the front to pay. I did ask about the freshness of the roosterkoek and was informed it was made the day before. I was very annoyed and informed the waitress / shop assistant / what ever she does, that she could have informed me when I placed the order - as I would have preferred freshly made roosterkoek. Roosterkoek the next day taste rubbery.

Would I recommend this stop? Definitely a big yes! But ask about the freshness 1st. Ohhhhh, service has always been great - so not sure what happened.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Neels K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belladekaroo, Marketing at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Neels

My sincerest apologies on behalf of Bella, i will ensure this matter is seen to and attended correctly. On the other note, we thank you for the kind words said and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.0 km away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
568 reviews
0.0 km away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.0 km away
Best Little Guest House
Best Little Guest House
#27 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#18 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
144 reviews
0.0 km away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#10 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
464 reviews
0.0 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella de Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella de Karoo

Address: Route 62 | Between Oudtshoorn & Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: R717 - R996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella de Karoo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella de Karoo guesthouse is in the middle of the Klein Karoo between Oudtshoorn and Calitzdorp on the popular tourist route 62. The late 18th century barn is now a warm modern updated country bed and breakfast guesthouse. All rooms have their own private bathroom with either shower or bath or both. One family unit,(sleeps 5 ) Kids can ride their bicycle, feed the poultry. Make sure to pack your hiking shoes and mountain bikes, because there is a nature reserve and you can hike or bike up the hill to the lapa which over look the whole farm and if you are lucky you will meet eeh-ooh our donkey, a retired ostrich, some kuddus and small wildlife. We are pet friendly. Meals can be ordered from our farmstall or you can have a braai at the back stoep of the guesthouse. A cutlery cupboard, microwave and roaster is provided. Select a nice wine or port from our boutique wine cellar and enjoy a karoo sunset on the front porch from your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bella de Karoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing