We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
32
12
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
12
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 50 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The R62 is full of pleasant surprises - there are so many potential stops, and so little time to explore all of them. This one has caught my eye several times, since there are always more vehicles parked around it than at the nearby competition. And I have learned: numbers of customers do count. This time the timing was right, and we turned in. It was not only a pleasant surprise, but also a worthwhile stopover: good food, substantial fare, pleasant service. We're strongly considering returning for the accommodation...

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HunterBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belladekaroo, Office Admin & Marketing at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Good day
Bella thanks you for all the kind words on our facility and are very pleased that you had decided to stop over :)
We most look forward to seeing you in the near future to come and experience the accommodation and everything we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Conveniently situated on Route 62 between Oudtshoorn and Calitzdorp, the friendly and very accommodating new owners took over 8 months ago and they have done an amazing job in such a short time. They went out of their way to make us comfortable, ensuring that we had everything we needed. The farm stall, which is well-stocked with incredibly tasting products and the restaurant, where we had a scrumptious breakfast which included tasty, home-made roosterbrood, are no longer called Smits Winkel, it all falls under' Bella de Karoo'. I bought a beautiful, hand-made, one of a kind girls dress, which is made by the local crafters and sold in the farm shop, under the 'Sebenza' label. We loved the characterful accommodation, built in the1800's, which has been beautifully restored and luxuriously decorated in rustic country farm-style. We loved the fact that there was no TV in the rooms, instead we spent the balmy evenings on the stoep, drinking great wine purchased from the shop, chatting to fellow travellers while braaing. We thought the rates were very good for that time of year. There is also a self catering option which has the added benefit of you not having to wash the dishes... The lovely owners continue to make great changes and have many exciting plans for the future and we can't wait to go back again this year. Well done Elsabie, Eunice and Shaun.

Room tip: Most rooms have beautiful free standing baths in them. We were in the only room with a shower, which suited us perfectly.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmflan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belladekaroo, Office Admin & Marketing at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Good day
From all of us at Bella, we thank you for such kind words and are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the near future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belladekaroo, Owner at Bella de Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC