We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/26
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/27
Expedia.comUS$72
eDreamsUS$72
CheapTicketsUS$72
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
72
91
74
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
91
74
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly hotel bar fridge buffet breakfast next morning garden route tour enjoyable stay stayed for nights cape town rondavel marriott caves trampoline accommodation supper cottage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2020

Grounds are neat and clean as are the rooms.
Staff were friendly and accommodating
However the following was very poor:
Pillows on the bed were terrible.
No shampoo in the shower only body wash/shampoo. How can a body wash be a shampoo?
No drinks in the bar fridge, not even cold water (remember the climate in Oudtshoorn is very hot in summer (35C-40C) so when you return to your room there isn't even cold water in the fridge.
The dinning area is dark and dingy
The breakfast was so poor for the price. Everything was covered in cling film.

Rooms were clean and comfortable except for the pillows.

Room tip: There is no particular room better suited than the others
Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank greendieselsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielia Fourie, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Dear Greendiesel,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding this issue. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention.
Unfortunately with covid-19 restrictions still in place, extra amenities can be requested at reception.
We sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations and will share your message appropriately within the organization to prevent this from accruing in the future.
We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2020

Travelling back to PE from Cape Town and made this our overnight stop. The rondavel rooms were great, nicely equipped and the beds most comfortable.
They had nice play things for the young kids and the trampoline was very busy the afternoon we were there.
Had supper in their dining room and food was fine and service was good. We enjoyed the breakfast the next morning.
Found all staff to be friendly and most helpful.
Had a most enjoyable stay and can thoroughly recommend it

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StephenXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020

We stayed here on night 1 of our four day garden route tour and arrived at 1725 in the middle of a load sharing electrical power cut. Fortunately we had a standard pitched roof room and not a yurt style as these were very dark. Power resumed at 1810 for about a minute before we lost it again for 3 hours. This meant eating by candle light. The food although reasonably tasty was limited buffet style and not too warm. Breakfast was fine though before we left at 0830 so no chance to comment on the hotels amenities.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete-n-Suzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020

We stayed here one night as part of our 4 day garden route tour. We were hoping we would be staying in one of the round houses. Luckily we were and they were everything we hoped they would be. We sat by the pool for a little while. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel as there was nothing else in the area., it was buffet style but enough choice to suit everyone. We even tried Ostrich. Breakfast was good the following morning, would definitely stay here sgain.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank eady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

We had the most amazing stay at this lovely friendly hotel owned by the Marriott. The accommodation was small but comfortable. The stars of this place were the friendly staff especially Franshine at reception. She organised our bookings for diner, taxi service and our visit to the caves!! What a gem! The breakfast was yummy with great variety! Thank you beautiful people for such a great stay!!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear Margaret W,

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Oudtshoorn. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback.
Your comments have been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service to guests like you.
Safe Travels and we hope to welcome you back in the near Future.

Kind Regards,
Danielia Fourie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews