We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel with beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Tokyo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average Hotel with beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed 2 nights here while visiting Oudtshoorn. We enjoyed the traditional hut room. It was spacious.

We enjoyed lying on the lawn and looking at the starts. Waking up to the birds chirping in the morning was a magical experience. They have some equipment for kids too.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Daniel

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoy the farm like setting that Riempie has to offer. I hope we will be able to welcome you back at Riempie in the new future.

Kind Regards
Elmarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    48
    57
    11
    10
See reviews for
34
61
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Not sure how this hotel got a rating of 3. This is not normal Protea standards at all.

Building and finishing - very old not modern at all. Burglar bars on window. . Not even Protea Breakwater which was a prison venue had that.

Restaurant - average. Chops was good. Service by staff very good and accommodating to our requests.

Rooms are all chalet style. We stayed in a family double room no 26 and 27. Two rooms with 2 single beds, en suite and small lounge. Very spacious and clean.
Parking right in front of room.

Pool next to restaurant was good size.
They offer same day laundry but no spa or gym.

No security at the main gate entrance.
On night 2, I found a cockroach in the bathroom. I know that there is lotsa open grass outside but still, never experienced this at a Protea before.

5 min driving distance to restaurants and Cango wildlife sanctuary.







Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaNaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 5 January 2017
Dear Samantha

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

I’ve brought your feedback under our owners attention, and sincerely hope that if you accept our apology, the next time you stay with us we would improve to your satisfaction and quality delivery.

Please be assured that we do look forward to a continued relationship with you, and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Riempies Hotel in the near future. It will be always my pleasure to assist.

Kind Regards
Elmarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oudtshoorn hotels

Windsor, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We had a thatch roof chalet. The room had air conditioning, hairdryer, and coffee/tea station. the bathroom needs updating. free wifi available in rooms. The food was ok. It had a swimming pool, childrens play area, and garden area. The location is so so

Room Tip: Ask for chalets they are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are under new ownership since 16 November 2016 and would really give attention to upgrading the bathrooms.

Please be assured that we do look forward to a continued relationship with you, and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Riempies Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Elmarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Quant little hotel, easy to find. Parking under shade netting. Room clean and tidy, bed comfortable. Large flat screen tv with DSTV. Free wifi however I battled to connect saying incorrect password continuously so I eventually gave up. Extra plug next to bed which is very helpful when charging laptop while working. One thing I did miss is fridge, especially considering heat in Oudtshoorn it would have been nice to have an ice cold complimentary bottle of water awaiting me. Not your usual "hotel" setup, more of a "lodge" feel, some rooms are rondawels and other (where I stayed) 4 single story "rooms" in a row. (Refer picture). Leaving before 7 am breakfast so reception has arranged for a breakfast snack to be packed which is a nice touch. They offer supper in the restaurant which I didn't have and there is apparently a bar. My only complaint is the noisy neighbors who were up most the night slamming doors and having a royal party, and eventually after 2 am snored me awake. I would stay here again if I was with my family but when I travel for business I enjoy the "hotel" setup and feel which offers more privacy and sleep.

Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LiezlDodkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 25 November 2016
Dear Liezl

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim, being GUEST satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our GUESTS and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our GUESTS expectations.

We are in the process to upgrade our Wi-Fi facilities. We do have security from 22h00 at night to 06h00. If there are other guests making noise please phone reception in future.

I’ve brought your feedback under our owners attention, and sincerely hope that if you accept our apology, the next time you stay with us we would improve to your satisfaction and quality delivery.

Kind Regards
Elmarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Our tour group of 30 people stayed here for one night. The hotel is made up of 16 rondavel round chalets and some terraced cottages. People in the rondavels enjoyed their stay, those in the chalets less so. I was in chalet 17 and it was rustic to say the least. Bathroom was tiny and desperately in need of an update. It was so small the sink is actually in the bedroom area and looks very utility. The room had a stable type door of 2 parts and I struggled to open it from inside and out. Wifi was supposedly available in reception but none of us were able to connect. We had a buffet dinner and breakfast and they were both excellent.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Dear Jellifer

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim, being GUEST satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our GUESTS and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our GUESTS expectations.

We are in the process to upgrade rooms and the Wi-Fi is a priority at this stage. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals.

I’ve brought your feedback under our owners attention, and sincerely hope that if you accept our apology, the next time you stay with us we would improve to your satisfaction and quality delivery.

Kind Regards
Elmarie Goosen






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.3 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.8 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.1 km away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.9 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.2 km away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Address: Baron Van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Riempie Estate)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price range (per night): R645 - R1 304
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Riempie Estate - A Cosy country atmosphere in a tranquil setting. Situated in a farm-like setting on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn, the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate is a charming hotel with well-appointed thatched rondavels, only 20 minutes away from the Cango Caves and moments away from the crocodile and ostrich farms for which Oudtshoorn is famed. Dine in the excellent restaurant and enjoy the best in country fare and hospitality. There are many facilities nearby; golf, squash, tennis, bowls and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing