We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic venue, personal service, space - and...”
other traveller has booked this property
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Lodge is surrounded with wide patios
Lodge, with Swartberg Mountains
A comfy corner of the Lounge
Endangered Cape Mountain Zebra and foal
Diningroom
Karoo thorn tree, which the giraffe love to eat
Head in the clouds, your neighbours
Patio outside bedrooms
Pool with a view
Mountain scenery, for the energetic to explore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Peter1953...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue, personal service, space - and lots of it!”
Reviewed 27 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We spent one night at Swartberg Game Lodge, and it was a wonderful experience. Rooms beautifully appointed, large and airy. So much attention to detail. Our host and hostess were fantastic - warm welcome, good food and very informative on the game drive. Even though we had just come from Kruger National Park, the game drive was well worth while.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Colleagues
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grootebro...
grootebroek
1 review
“Great stay, we felt sorry to leave after 3 nights”
Reviewed 19 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010

What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are spacious and well decorated and with a spectacular view on the mountains. Monty and Nadine are great hosts and do everything to make your stay comfortable. We enjoyed the game drives and the food was delicious and presented very well. We hope to come back one day.
Cees and Rina
The Netherlands

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHSM_10
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 8 December 2010 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I wanted to spend the last two nights of our one month honeymoon in South Africa in a game lodge within driving distance of Cape Town and were very happy to have found SPGL after having researched it and all the competition in the Western Cape. Having done several safaris up in Kruger beforehand we did not have high expectations of the game drives at SPGL, however they have a lot of game running around on the 2,000 hectar estate and over two days we did a very nice regular game drive, a quad bike drive and a guided fishing trip with the manager, Monty, and his son, Michael, and we all caught a few bass! The location of the lodge is stunning with the estate being surrounded by high mountains on all sides, our superior room was very large and comfortable and the food was absolutely first class, up there with the very best that we had during a long culinary stay in South Africa. Managers Nadine and Monty were exceptional and spent a lot of time with us, which we thoroughly enjoyed and made us feel privileged. All in all we can highly recommend this place as everything was perfect (but do not expect a Kruger style big 5 experience) and would love to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissi24...
Monchengladbach, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an indescribable place to be”
Reviewed 5 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

you must have seen this wonderful place to understand, how beautiful it is. It is difficult to describe it in words. We have never seen something like this before. Nadine and Monty made our stay unforgettable. We felt from the first second welcome. Our stay was to short but we are sure, we will come back!! Thanks a lot for this little dream :-) C & B from Germany

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidbg
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“words cannot describe enough the hospitality”
Reviewed 14 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic stay we had with Monty and Nadine it felt like a long weekend with good friends - perfect we WILL go back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$595
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing