We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local place”

Nostalgie Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 June 2024

Nice little restaurants, also favoured by locals. We had ostrich amongst other choices, the food was good and the ambience lovely. Friendly people who made sure we got home safely.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex05Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1 496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1 497 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2024

What a wonderful experience me and my wife had at this gem of a restaurant. Delicious satisfying good portioned home made food at its best! Great service and wonderful romantic ambience.

Highly recommend and can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trek50136006183
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2024

The atmosphere was like out of a horror movie, I didn't even dare lean back on my chair. I understand the idea of it being old fashioned but this was too far, the walls and floors seem very unkept. To top it all off there was a cockroach crawling on top of the menu, I have never felt more uncomfortable at a restaurant before in my life. My water was served in a plastic bottle with a hole in the bottom where water leaked out. The food was good but unfortunately the atmosphere did not match this. Nostalgia? More like Nightmare.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Excursion26213296536
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2024

With my wife and kids we enjoyed a lovely dinner at Nostalgie in Oudtshoorn. We had the most delicious Boboti. The weather was great allowing us to dine outside on the terrace / garden. Thank you Nostalgie and Leroy who was there for our service this evening!

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kreutz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2024 via mobile

Lovely setting and "stoep"! We had breakfast and I agree with Jaco B (check his review too) this is THE place to eat. Lovely home baked bread and scrambled egg was really well made, seeing as scrambled is not so easy to get right and serve hot. Hubby's mince on toast was a winner.
Just one comment about the coffee: Apart from the (my fetish) non-microfoam flat white, I seriously doubt the water used for coffee is filtered plus possibly no barista/machine. Rather have a good strong filter coffee served in a small plunger with hot milk. Even hubby's filter coffee wasn't up to standard, confirming my water/machine suspicions.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank pieringogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Nostalgie Restaurant also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Nostalgie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.