We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Experience ”
Review of Meerkat Adventures

Meerkat Adventures
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique Experience ”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We headed out into the bush at sunrise. Perfect time to witness the environment waking up. Although the focus was on the Meerkats, we saw a variety of animals. Lots of patience is needed for the meerkat sightings, as they do things in their own time. Our patience eventually paid off with good sightings. The guides were very knowledge, friendly & accommodating. A wonderful experience.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    30
    13
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must do in Oudtshoorn”
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Seeing the meerkats in their natural environment is something we will never forget. Excellent guides - so informative and passionate. Waiting for the first meerkat to appear as the sun rises and the excitement when it does... Watching the rest of the family appear and get ready fro the day. Wow! Don't miss this opportunity to experience something that can never be replicated in a zoo or animal park. Worth getting up a little early for!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank amtraveller_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a privilege!”
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Devey Glinister is just wonderful. We eventually saw meerkats at our third attempt and it was worth all the effort of getting up early three times. There is a sense of being part of the meerkat world as they wake up and stand facing the sun till they are warm enough to start their daily hunt for food. Devey has managed to make the meerkats so used to his voice and presence that they take no notice of him but they are still wild animals who react to strange sounds and movements. A wonderful experience.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent authentic experience”
Reviewed 2 February 2017

As promised, they popped up right in front of us. The very informative guide told us all about meerkats, as well as this specific family and the work and research the team do there. These are truly wild animals and so the timing does vary, but we were relatively lucky; despite the cooler weather they popped up soon after sunrise and we waited for around an hour while the guide gave us information before they came out. We met up at 5 and were done around 8 am.

We also stayed at the Zeekoe Guest Farm, which was fantastic, so the price was only R500 per head.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The highlight of our visit to Oudtshoorn”
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Most people visit Oudtshoorn for the Cango Caves and ostriches. Great excursions, but do yourself a favour: Contact De Zeekoe Guesthouse and book their Meerkat Adventure. It means getting up early but it is worth it.

The show is run by university students who spend a lot of time in the veld, researching these delightful bush babies. They love meerkats and it shows. Plus our narrator had a brilliant sense of humour. And they are extremely knowledgeable on their subject.

You sit on your camping chair in the bush and wait for the meerkat family to wake up. One by one they pop out of the burrow, scratching, stretching and checking the area for predators, totally ignoring the humans only a few feet away. We were lucky to be there when there were babies. So cute!!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meerkat Adventures also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Meerkat Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing