We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent authentic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meerkat Adventures

Meerkat Adventures
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent authentic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

As promised, they popped up right in front of us. The very informative guide told us all about meerkats, as well as this specific family and the work and research the team do there. These are truly wild animals and so the timing does vary, but we were relatively lucky; despite the cooler weather they popped up soon after sunrise and we waited for around an hour while the guide gave us information before they came out. We met up at 5 and were done around 8 am.

We also stayed at the Zeekoe Guest Farm, which was fantastic, so the price was only R500 per head.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    27
    13
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The highlight of our visit to Oudtshoorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

Most people visit Oudtshoorn for the Cango Caves and ostriches. Great excursions, but do yourself a favour: Contact De Zeekoe Guesthouse and book their Meerkat Adventure. It means getting up early but it is worth it.

The show is run by university students who spend a lot of time in the veld, researching these delightful bush babies. They love meerkats and it shows. Plus our narrator had a brilliant sense of humour. And they are extremely knowledgeable on their subject.

You sit on your camping chair in the bush and wait for the meerkat family to wake up. One by one they pop out of the burrow, scratching, stretching and checking the area for predators, totally ignoring the humans only a few feet away. We were lucky to be there when there were babies. So cute!!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't Expect Too Much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

I love 5 day Test Match Cricket and to me this experience was for the Naturalist equivalent.
If you prefer 20/20 then go and see Meerkats in a zoo where you will be guaranteed entertainment but the purists will look down their noses at you.

So if you like getting up at 4.15 and then waiting expectantly for some action for 3 hours this is for you.

The action when it happens and if it happens (as in nature nothing is guaranteed) is the first sighting of a meerkat 10 metres away from you followed by sporadic sorties from other members of the family. We had that experience. If you are lucky they will then all introduce themselves have a frolic and then move off as a group to find breakfast. We were not lucky.

No matter, the extremely friendly and knowledgeable guide informed and amused us with plenty of stories and his passion for his subject shone through.

I know I should appreciate this wild experience and the work that has gone in to allowing me to get so close to nature, but personally I found it a bit too expensive for the experience I received.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank 216BigAl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Not cheap, but worth it. Get a great view of such a rare and fascinating animal. The guides seemed extremely passionate and knowledgeable which is always good.
Also pleasing that the meerkats were still wild, and were not interfered with at all by humans. Not fed or touched all, just used to seeing and hearing humans, so they weren't spooked when they saw us

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Leaf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super cute Meerkats only couple meters from us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

Everything was well organized and we saw a whole family of Meerkats! We got some coffee to get the morning going on, then walked couple hundred meters and sat on our chairs and waited for the Meerkats. We didn't need to wait very long after we saw the first one, and soon after that the whole family. I was surprised how close they were! Only couple meters from us.

Really loved the experience, Meerkats are the cutest animals.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank rap1ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meerkat Adventures also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Meerkat Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing