We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge's A la Carte Restaurant offers local Karoo cuisine with the perfect atmosphere to enjoy while listening to the hippos playing in the water. The surrounding wooden deck overlooking the 5 hectare natural waterhole makes it the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the hills. During the cold winter months a huge fireplace offers a cosy alternative and as accompaniment, our wine selection consists of some of the best award-winning wines on Route 62. Guests can make reservations for our Buffet Breakfast from 07:00 - 11:00 and for Lunch and Dinner from our A la Carte Menu from 11:00 - 22:00. With all the zesty products, facilities and amenities under one roof, Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is the ideal choice for all corporate functions, events, weddings, celebrations, seminars & team building. It also has a grand piano as prominent feature. A unique bush veld experience in the heart of the Klein Karoo.
Reviewed 5 September 2018

This is one of my favourite places to visit! The food is out of this world, the views absolutely stunning and you will see most of the Big 5 while sipping on cocktail or having a meal

Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you very much for your great review!
It is always nice to welcome back guests.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2018

I really enjoyed the food here it was fantastic. The view that you have of the dam while dining is also amazing and there are quite a few animals on display also which adds to the experience. I ate here for lunch and dinner on a couple of occasions during our stay here. Dinner I could not fault the service was first class and so was the food. The ostrich was amazing. My problem was with lunch, we had left an hour between lunch and the elephant experience which we though was ample time but due to the poor timing in service here we cut it very close. The waiters were slow to come to us with menus and we had to eventually ask for service, once again we had to ask to have our order taken then after a half our wait we had to ask for our food. I could understand these problems if it was really bust but it wasn't there was maybe three or four other tables there. The lunch time staff need to have a bit of urgency and need to up their game here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Murphy2k14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you very much for your review.
We humbly apologies that the lunch service did not meet your expectations.
The matter has already been addressed by management.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future for a memorable experience of everything Buffelsdrift Game Lodge has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch at recommendation of our Berluda Ostrich Farm tour guide.
Great service and menu choices offering local meats. The Ostrich steak was delicious and perfectly cooked - the best i had on our SA trip. Nice setting sat on the veranda overlooking the waterhole which is home to 3 hippos.

Thank Llama44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you very much for your great review.
We are very happy to hear you had a great time at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge.
The ostrich steak is definitely a favourite!
We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We were recommended to stop at Buffels by locals , we did not stay in the tents but stopped off to have a meal as we were passing by. Sadly our meal was poor. My son wouldn’t eat his child’s meal and my friend said the wedges served with the meal tasted frozen. The chef confirmed this ! They serve defrosted food which was disappointing as we have had so many nice home cooked meals here in SA. Sadly the manager did not want to deal with our complaint and brought the chef out Xavier , who told us to put it in the compliments book ?! We were just providing some feedback but it wasn’t welcome .
The deck itself is fab and we saw hippos but wouldn’t go again. Please improve your customer service Buffels you are after all hoping to attract tourists and repeat business .

1  Thank cmatadigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you very much for your review.
We humbly apologise that you did not receive the 4 star quality and service that Buffelsdrift is known for.
The matter has already been addressed by management.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience the real Buffelsdrift Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We popped in for a light lunch and sat on the terrace overlooking the dam and there were three hippos, a vast number of birds and the mountain range to see. An absolute corker of a view

To top it off the food was great value and the service spot on

Why not 5 out of 5, the food we had was very good bar my panini that lacked a bit of taste, too much cheese not enough flavour. If I could give 4.5 then I would

Place is well worth a visit - just don’t have the panini

Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you very much for your review Simon.
We are very happy to hear you had a memorable experience.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another wonderful time at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing