We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deon Makwatie se review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deon Makwatie se review”
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The overall service at Turnberry lodge was great. I would advise the place to anybody. I will definately make a booking there again. The food was lekker, the cheff tought the guests a lekke song about braaing and the general south african traditions. It was great. Wa is my Vuvuzela!!!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank deonm617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    103
    44
    4
    7
See reviews for
75
124
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oudtshoorn
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2017

For a 4 star Hotel I was expecting a great quality of service and buffet breakfast, but it was below my expectations. In bathrooms I was expecting both shower and bath but it was shower only. The air-cons were not working properly and the rooms were hot, TV channels were also not working, there was a day whereby there was not signal at all.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nontandog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Great Braai experience on the evening of arrival. Great breakfast, clean rooms, good beds. Affable and helpful staff and owner. Assistance with pre-booking our next stay in Montagu. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peterzE912YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Rooms dark small could just about walk around bottom if bed bathroom unclean difficult to close bathroom door had to step to one side to get round door to close. No power for 15 hours no explanation one candle in jar put on corner of building no internal lights or torches provided no explanation in morning, no wifi no telephone. Generator started outside of room to keep fridges working but no lights noise could not sleep and no air con,don't go

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumphouse299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a nice place to stay when you want to visit Oudtshoorn or the Ostritchfarms. To get in and out you ring a doorbell, and then some one opens the gate, but sometimes it took a few minutes.
The swimmingpool is a nice touch, and breakfast was good.
The room keys have a very large wooden hanger, which is very impractical to take with you...
All and all a good hotel.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wouter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niel E, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2016
Thank you for taking the to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. The idea with the keys is that you do not take it with you when leaving the hotel - we safe keep it at reception. We wish to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.6 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
0.1 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
330 reviews
1.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
0.7 km away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
1.7 km away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Boutique Hotel

Property: Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Address: 130 St John Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Turnberry Lodge & Tavern)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price range (per night): R756 - R2 827
Hotel Class:4 star — Turnberry Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Turnberry Boutique Hotel is situated in the centre of the picturesque Klein Karoo town of Oudtshoorn, South Africa. A warm welcome awaits visitors to the heart of the Klein Karoo. Relax in the comfort of one of the 22 luxurious air-conditioned bedrooms (each with satellite television, a coffee station and a mini bar), all with en-suite bathrooms, and cosy double beds fitted with crisp white linen. Each room also has free wireless Internet connection. Relax on leather couches in our cool classy tavern at the very heart of the Lodge, and enjoy a casual pub lunch or a delicious dinner. Spend the afternoon cooling off in the sparkling swimming pool, and take cocktails on the patio overlooking the stark beauty of the Klein Karoo at sundown. Turnberry Boutique Hotel boasts a state-of-the-art air-conditioned conference facility that can seat up to eighty people - ideal for conferences, weddings, cocktail parties and other occasions. There is ample safe undercover parking and we are situated in the centre of Oudtshoorn. On your arrival, we will plan your visit to all the attractions Oudtshoorn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turnberry Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing