We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hide Away Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$217
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$136
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bamboo the Guesthouse(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brenton Beach House(Brenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teniqua Treetops(Sedgefield)
US$99
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pine Lake Marina(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$156
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
298
97
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
97
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomon arrivalgarden routelovely viewlovely guesthousegreat hostsplaces to visitperfect staywarm welcomerestaurant recommendationsoverlooking the lagoonfriendly ownersknysna areapersonal touchknysna headscape townstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for 3 nights during our recent visit to Knysna. We were met by our hosts upon our arrival and were given a lot of information about the guest house and surrounding area. We were then showen to our room which was great! We had a direct view of the Knysna Heads and the lagoon, and we spent much of our first evening on our balcony planning the days of our visit.

The guest house is situated just off the main road in to Knysna, and although it is noisy during the day it does quieten down in the evening and it can not be heard from the guest house at night.

The breakfast is fantastic, with the option of cereals, toast, fruit and hot cooked items. We just wish that we didn't have to order it the night before. It would have beem perfect if we could have decided what we wanted to eat on the morning itself.

Otherwise a brilliant stay and would highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Hello Scott

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us at Hide Away Guest House.

We have found that once guests have decided on the town they are going to stay in whilst travelling along the garden route, they then turn to Tripadvisor for assistance in choosing the place to stay and reviews make a huge impact on their decision. Gone are the days when a star grading defined where guests stayed! Its all about what other people have experienced and say.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in South Africa and that it has given you an idea of what to expect when you next return!

Take care and kind regards.

Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Cecil and Colleen made us very welcome when we stayed for a couple of nights in October, the views from our room across the bay were fantastic. Coleen was very helpful on our arrival where she was able to make bookings for restaurants, and offered a number of alternatives for us to choose from.

The guest house is a little way out of the town/waterfront, but the taxi service was great (cost around 60SAR each ways), and you could easily walk this during the day, some restaurants also offer a pick up and drop off service, which we used once.

The beds had electric blankets (helpful on the cooler Spring nights), and a well stocked mini bar, and spacious room.

A very hearty breakfast was on offer with plenty of choice (hot and cold), which is requested the night before.

Some reviews have mentioned road noise, which i have to say I didn't notice, but you may hear this if sitting out on the veranda in the evening (but it was a bit cold for us to do that).

Colleen was also very informative on places to visits and routes to take.

We wish we could have stayed longer, perhaps next time...

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was a good size and great views of the lagoon.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Hi there Alistair

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the thorough review on your stay with us at the beginning of October. We do appreciate the great comments!

As we said, you have loads of reasons to come back to Knysna as there is just so much more for you to see and do and of course the great golf courses we have in the vicinity. If you need assistance with booking tee off times, let us know!

Take care and kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We choose this guest house to stay as we want to "hide away" from the city. Good choice as far as the view over the lagoon is concerned. Unfortunately the noise of the highway close by was somewhat disappointing. Service given at this guest house was very structured and organized. In some way made up for the noise if you like that. Four nights we stayed there overall good experience.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kobus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Hello Kobus & Lisbe

We hope that you had a good flight back to Johannesburg!

Thank you once again for staying with us at Hide Away and for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us.

Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the noise from the road, which fortunately does quieten down considerably during the night. Living here we have become almost oblivious to the noise - its probably like living next to a railway line where over a period of time you don't hear the trains passing by!

Maybe we will get to meet again for another wedding anniversary celebration!

Take care and kind regards.

Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were staying here for 2 nights but stayed for 3 as we really enjoyed our stay here. It is a great base for the many attractions there and Colleen was very helpful with advice and arranging transport and bookings for us. Cecil cooked a great breakfast and all the staff were great. The room was lovely and comfortable with a great view over the lagoon. We will be back next time we visit your lovely country. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank heathergreasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Hello there

Thank you for the great review!

It is so encouraging to receive positive feedback on the efforts we make to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and its even better when they decide they will return when next they are in our part of the world.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our beautiful country!

Keep healthy and well until we meet again.

Kind regards
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We loved our stay here. Colleen was so helpful answering all our questions and my friends and I really loved staying at Hide Away. The rooms were spacious and quiet. The breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaHideaway, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Hello Kara

You have probably returned home by now and getting back into a normal routine. I hope you managed to see as much as possible in Dubai on your layover and that it wasn't too hot for you. This time of the year in the Middle East can be quite unbearable especially if you are not used to it.

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the short review of your stay with us and we hope that when you get a chance to return to SA and Knysna that you decide to stay longer than just one night!

Please pass on our regards to the rest of the group!

Take care and kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews