We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
45
55
54
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
55
54
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog cabinrailway memorabiliawalking distance to the waterfrontthe ground floorcovered parkinggroup toura small swimming poolstaff went out of their waygarden routestar hotelhotel is locatedfree wifistayed two nightsreceptionbreakfastwardrobebirds
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this special hotel, - built with love for railway stuff, which gave it quite a good atmosphere. We loved it, and the morning buffet is in the high end - nothing missing.
Very recommendable!

Regards from
Birgitta and Flemming / Denmark

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Festor_Addams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

this simple hotel (but not the rates !) is not recommendable.
Simple and dark rooms, dirty disgusting pool, unfriendly staff and a moderate breakfast (it was replenished nothing).

The rooms at poolside are very noisy because they are poorly soundproofed and the people sitting at the bar making noise all night. Complaining was useless.
At all : not worth the money.

Room Tip: all rooms are noisy and poorly soundproofed
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oli_Konditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

I have not been here for a good couple of years, they have done a lot to the hotel, my room is good comfortable well organised has all the amenities that one would want, clean and neat, good TV reception (a bit limited but adequate for general use) close to everything, the bar needs some local beers but a great place to meet. Try it worth a visit will let you know about the breakfast

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The hotel has a theme of South African Railways. It is done in wood and is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and the dining hall is very charming. It also has a small swimming pool. We visited in winters ( July). It was a very comfortable and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Over all a great stay in the heart of Knysna, a real affordable hotel. Only issue I had was with the bath water which turned yellow due to the old pipes.

Being a South African we are used to this but not good impression for tourists

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazzaGME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews