We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This is a smart, modern, bright hotel is a great location adjacent to the waterfront complex with its many restaurants and excellent shopping. The staff were friendly and helpful in all areas. The room was of a good size with a king bed, a bright well lit bathroom with separate bath & shower and everything worked well. The balcony overlooking the pool and the lagoon added to the room. Breakfast was tasty and was cooked to order if you wished. The only downside was the layout of the room. The desk and other furniture was positioned such that it made the space in the room much more restricted and the room felt smaller than it was. Also a large pendant light was positioned very poorly right in front of the air conditioner vent and exactly in place for you to hit it with your head everytime you walked around the corner of the bed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbelbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear jbelbin

Thank you for completing this online review regarding during your stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We spent three nights here,room was nice & clean & the best breakfast out of the six or seven hotels that we stayed in on our tour of South Africa. Very handy for the all the lovely restaurants on the adjoining boardwalk. The hotel is set out in a strange way, leaving the room on the first floor you are greeted by a view that looks like a scene from 'Porridge' as the landing looks like the inside of a prison!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear John H

Thank you for reviewing the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays on TripAdvisor.

We trust that you had a wonderful holiday in Knysna and the Garden Route? I appreciate your feedback about our breakfast service and choice, please be assured that I have congratulated my Food and Beverage TEAM for the outstanding job!

Thank you for noting our unique architecture, the design of the hotel is to represent a cruise ship with the many glass panels and open atrium in the foyer.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I had a lovely suprise weekend to the Knysna Protea Hotel. From the management who organized the room, the room was lovely, and the waterfront view beautiful! Breakfast service was great!
Had a lovely weekend and willbdefnitaly be back!

One of my favorate hotels!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear GUEST

Thank you for reviewing the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I wish to assure you that I have congratulated my TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Situated on the waterfront, only a few minutes around the corner to a proliferation of attractive boutique retail shopping and a good number of really great restaurants where we had the opportunity to sample some of the top local seafoods (wild oysters - yum!) and excellent South African wines. Spent 2 nights stopover while on the popular Garden Route tour. Warmly received by Hotel staff, our room was clean and comfortable with all requirements. Some reservations about noise at night due to central location, but thanks to the double glazed windows we heard absolutely nothing. Very nice breakfast selection available ++. Knysna and the area offers a lot to Tourism. Would be happy to revisit and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear aussie1928

Thank you so much for this positive review on TripAdvisor. We hope you had a fantastic holiday in Knysna and the rest of South Africa?

We are delighted to receive your feedback and please be assure that I will share it with my TEAM. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated!

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed here as part of a tour. It caters well for large groups. The hotel is very well located on the waterfront...the staff were friendly and efficient. The heated out door pool is a standout if you like a relaxing swim. Wifi a bit dodgy...frustrating after 10 minutes...otherwise thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beyond5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Beyond5th

Thank you for providing valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us, as it is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best Regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
1.0 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.4 km away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.5 km away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
4.0 km away
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: R1 771 - R2 985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing