We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveller rating
309
458
157
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
458
157
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews knysna quays great location two double beds heated pool modern hotel direct access garden route choice of restaurants buffet breakfast situated right water front waterfront area cape town comfortable rooms south africa short stay stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 967 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We spent three nights here,room was nice & clean & the best breakfast out of the six or seven hotels that we stayed in on our tour of South Africa. Very handy for the all the lovely restaurants on the adjoining boardwalk. The hotel is set out in a strange way, leaving the room on the first floor you are greeted by a view that looks like a scene from 'Porridge' as the landing looks like the inside of a prison!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear John H

Thank you for reviewing the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays on TripAdvisor.

We trust that you had a wonderful holiday in Knysna and the Garden Route? I appreciate your feedback about our breakfast service and choice, please be assured that I have congratulated my Food and Beverage TEAM for the outstanding job!

Thank you for noting our unique architecture, the design of the hotel is to represent a cruise ship with the many glass panels and open atrium in the foyer.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I had a lovely suprise weekend to the Knysna Protea Hotel. From the management who organized the room, the room was lovely, and the waterfront view beautiful! Breakfast service was great!
Had a lovely weekend and willbdefnitaly be back!

One of my favorate hotels!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Inspiration734523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear GUEST

Thank you for reviewing the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I wish to assure you that I have congratulated my TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Situated on the waterfront, only a few minutes around the corner to a proliferation of attractive boutique retail shopping and a good number of really great restaurants where we had the opportunity to sample some of the top local seafoods (wild oysters - yum!) and excellent South African wines. Spent 2 nights stopover while on the popular Garden Route tour. Warmly received by Hotel staff, our room was clean and comfortable with all requirements. Some reservations about noise at night due to central location, but thanks to the double glazed windows we heard absolutely nothing. Very nice breakfast selection available ++. Knysna and the area offers a lot to Tourism. Would be happy to revisit and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear aussie1928

Thank you so much for this positive review on TripAdvisor. We hope you had a fantastic holiday in Knysna and the rest of South Africa?

We are delighted to receive your feedback and please be assure that I will share it with my TEAM. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated!

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed here as part of a tour. It caters well for large groups. The hotel is very well located on the waterfront...the staff were friendly and efficient. The heated out door pool is a standout if you like a relaxing swim. Wifi a bit dodgy...frustrating after 10 minutes...otherwise thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Waterfront view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beyond5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Beyond5th

Thank you for providing valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us, as it is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again!

Best Regards,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Its located right on harbour and everything is short walk
Do stay here aa its a quick walk on harbour front
Everything is convenient

This hotel has a good pool and good breakfast buffet

The staff at reception is helpful and especially mr collin is great ask for him


Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sushant1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Sushant1984

Thank you for taking the time to write this online review regarding your recent stay with us.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Fielder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews