We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Knysna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017

It's a small but cosy place to stay. Located conveniently very near to the waterfront. Enough parking for self driven vehicles. Staff is helpful and friendly. Breakfast had Indian cuisine also. Rooms were decent and clean..Wifi in room was poor but.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anurag66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

The hotel is just 2 mins walking distance from waterfront. It is fully made of wood which creates a really nice feel. The rooms are cosy, clean, and sufficiently spacious. The Breakfast is good especially the sandwiches with white onions are delicious. The staff is courteous and helpful as they even packed us breakfast when we had to leave early morning. Overall nice place to stay. For vegetarians, there is restaurant "Rasoie" just a block away which serves good Indian food.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We had high expectations of this hotel as some friends of ours had stayed here 10 years ago & loved their stay. We checked in for 3 nights & used it as our base for exploring the heads & wildlife sanctuaries. When we got to our room we noticed it was two single beds (made up as single beds) pushed together, we immediately asked the duty manager to change to double bed as we were on honeymoon but we were informed that the hotel were unable to do so as they had no true double beds. The sheets couldn't be changed either to make it more into a double bed as the linen cupboard was locked & the manager hadn't the key. We both slept poorly that night. We expressed our unhappiness with the room again early the next morning. The bed was changed into an imitation double bed whilst we were at breakfast. The duty manager left us a bottle of wine, fruit & chocolate in way of apology which we appreciated. The hotel doesn't serve lunch or dinner at this time of year but recommended some restaurants by the waterfront which is 5 minutes walk from hotel. Of these, we loved 34 South. WiFi was included & good. Bath, shower, hairdryer, safe & tea/coffee facilities in room. Room was overlooking the carpark but had balcony. Pool, sauna & jacuzzi on site & open to use which we availed of. Towels were provided at reception. Breakfast is between 7am-9.30. Checkout was the earliest of any hotel we stayed in along the garden route (10am) which didn't suit us as we were in relaxed mode. Sleep ins are difficult to get as housekeeping can be heard in the narrow corridors. Breakfast was good & varied. I enjoyed the pancakes, fruit, pork sausages & scrambled eggs. I also liked the mugs provided for the coffee. I felt the dining area for breakfast could do with updating. The upper lobby area was relaxing to sit in & the stain glass window was lovely. Overall, this hotel fell short of our high expectations. Our main issues were lack of a standard double bed & early check-out. Highlights included the good breakfast & pool/jacuzzi/sauna facilities.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed at the Log Inn recently for the knysna Marathon. It's really well located and the breakfast is good.
They have off street parking too. The most impressive thing is how attentive management and staff are. Nothing is too big an ask.
It's also very cool looking - built as the name suggests - from logs.
Rooms well appointed- a great place to stay

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank travelmatt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Excellent value for money.
The hotel is situated within walking distance from waterfront
Service is excellent, staff always ready to help - Martin was great!
Prices are fair, rooms neat and spacious.
Beautiful building, lots of wood and stained glass windows

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd florr are larger, but no balcony as on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bos810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.5 km away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
5.4 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
33 reviews
1.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
29.0 km away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: R1 471 - R2 628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing