We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel in the Town”
Review of Royal Hotel Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Hotel Knysna
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stayed here 'off-season' for a night in 2 rooms.

Hotel is a throw back to teh old days, its very regal in looks and structure, but does come over rather tired. Im guessing in summer with more guests (I believe we were the only ones!) it would present better, but tbh it was a bit depressing. However It was good to stay in teh old town rather than the somewhat pretentious Marina area.

Staff were friendly and helpful (somewhat complicated Wifi set up meaning a ticket per device but limited to 2 tickets per room....).

Rooms were basic, and cold.nut clean.

Breakfast was OK.

Secure parking to rear limited spaces so assume Summer may be different.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martynjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

My husband and I were traveling the Garden Route and stopped at the Royal Hotel Knysna. The hotel is so charming and located in a great spot, within easy walking distance of many places in town. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was wonderful. Wish we had more time to use the gym that was available, as it was very impressive!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

The hotel has charm and is situated in the centre of town which allows one to walk all over town.
The staff, which were there on our previous visits, are friendly and accommodating.
We loved our stay and are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ralfk0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

The staff were very friendly. We were doing the knysna half marathon and were accommodated with early breakfast. Nice central location. Were able to walk the the fare grounds and shops. The gym is top class. Rooms are slightly old but didn't take away or hamper an excellent weekend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

The staff greeted us with curteousness the evening and have been most accommodating.
Our room was/is cleaned every day when we come from an event. The kitchen staff made us special omelettes. The muffins were a winner and after our featherbed run i made a bee line for the kitchen to get a second helping.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MargieRichterWilmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 km away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
333 reviews
0.3 km away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#19 of 30 in Knysna
254 reviews
0.9 km away
Yellowwood Lodge
Yellowwood Lodge
#24 of 30 in Knysna
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.1 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
3.0 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Knysna

Address: 24 Queen Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: R793 - R1 475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Knysna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally established in 1867 and now newly renovated, The Royal Hotel Knysna offers a charming colonial environment which is centrally situated in walking distance to restuarants, shops and the waterfront. With a central cobblestone courtyard, walkways and verandas, you will find yourself relaxing in this beautiful building and with wonderful staff to tend to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal Hotel Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing